Question of the Week: October 10th, 2017.

What was your favourite ace 101 resource when learning about asexuality?

My early understanding of all things ace came from reading and participating in discussions on the AVEN forums. I like the idea of experiential learning, but it didn’t work for me in that case. I learned the basics and left the online ace community. It wasn’t until much later that I found 201 resources like this blog and only after did I wander back to re-read the 101 resources I wish I’d seen from the beginning. What about you? Were there any 101 resources you found really helpful or gave you that ‘a-hah’ moment?

About Talia

Talia is an asexual, nonbinary, vegan-feminist that drinks a lot of coffee and stays up very late playing Blizzard video games and writing fiction. They are working on a PhD in Environmental Studies where they think a lot about oppression as intersectional and impacting identities differentially. Talia has a particular fondness for asexuality, fandom, and Critical Animal Studies. Their personal blog is petuniaparty.tumblr.com
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Question of the Week: October 10th, 2017.

  1. agigabyte says:

    I’m pretty sure that the first thing besides Ao3 fics I read involving Asexuality was this site. I kinda just picked up the 101 over time, alongside the 201.

  2. Jess says:

    I went straight to various blogs on various platforms, but for an overview I think it was mostly anything from swankivy, especially on her tumblr.

  3. I found out about asexuality though tumblr, in personal posts and PSAs and short infographics. I’d say the ones that struck me most where those made by asexualityresources, this specific one on the types of attraction and, years later, the Ace Stories series by The Asexuality Blog.

  4. patience says:

    I read “The Invisible orientaton” by Julie Sondra Decker/swankivy and for me this covered all the 101 I needed. I still find snippets of things I don’t know (and will sometimes read 101 when going through the archive of a new blog), but I’m mostly interested in 201.

  5. luvtheheaven says:

    I absorbed as much 101 as I could on AVEN, and their wiki probably, and on tumblr all at once mixed in with higher 201 type posts, and yeah I don’t have any specific resources that I would recommend from personal experience. It all was very jumbled for me and it was long before The Invisible Orientation came out – now, I’d certainly recommend that book as it really does cover everything.

Leave a Reply

