Asexuality in Fandom linkspam

This is my own submission to the Carnival of Aces of October 2017: Asexuality in Fandom.

It was also cross-posted to my Tumblr.


I won’t have much time to write a long piece for this month’s topic, but I can at least make a linkspam with the material others have posted before.

First, have some general meta on asexuality and the ace spectrum in fandom:

If you like stats, check out:

If you are into academic readings, try and look up for:

If you would like to check some fandom blogs and communities dedicated to ace fanwork, here are a few:

If you’d like to incorporate ace characters in your fanwork, I’d recommend you start by reading Writing Asexuality in Fiction – Masterpost by Anagnori

And for everyone interested in fics, check out Writer Ace​‘s Aro/Ace Fanfiction database

Tell me in the comments if you know of another one that could fit in this list!

About Chrysocolla Town

Chrysocolla Town (or CT for short) is a chilean nerd who posts about ace history and the spanish-language ace community at her blog, where one can also find resources on local groups and ace research. She also has an spanglish Tumblr @chrysocollatown. She is asexual and her romantic orientation is ¯l_(ツ)_/¯. She's currently the admin of the Facebook group Asexuales Chile and manages the related Fanpage and Tumblr.
This entry was posted in Articles, Linkspam, Media. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Asexuality in Fandom linkspam

  1. queenieofaces says:

    I’m surprised you didn’t include chess-ka’s piece, since it was a pretty big deal when it came out: http://chess-ka.tumblr.com/post/63762267800/some-issues-with-asexuality-in-fanfic (Although it looks like you now have to have a tumblr blog to view it.)

    • Sennkestra says:

      I seem to be getting caught in an endless loop of redirects when I try to read past the readmore – does anyone know if it works better in the tumblr mobile app (which I don’t have)?

      • Siggy says:

        I believe chess-ka’s post was set to private at some point, and I presume that’s why CT didn’t include it.

        • queenieofaces says:

          I continue to genuinely not understand tumblr functionality, because I would think that being able to view the beginning of the post through tumblr means it’s public but…I guess…not???

        • Yeah, that was why. I saw that the blog was hidden now, was going to ask chess-ka if I could include the post to the linkspam, and then I realized that I couldn’t read past the Read More.
          Though I just checked and you do can read it on the app, so maybe I should have asked anyway…

  2. luvtheheaven says:

    In general, Sennkestra, all the tumblr links are working fine for me and yes I’m using the tumblr app on my android phone sip when I click a link it automatically opens there. 🙂

    Idk if it applies but for the February 2015 Carnival of Aces about other communities I wrote two posts about “Being an Asexual Fangirl”, both crossposted on both WordPress and on tumblr, and got an in depth response on tumblr from forzandopod; everything can most easily be found at this one link:
    http://luvtheheaven.tumblr.com/post/112602208417/being-an-asexual-fangirl-part-2 although I might’ve also gotten some good comments on WordPress sip feel free to check there too.

    If I think of other fandom and asexuality things I’ve seen I might come back and comment again. I’m not good at saving or remembering links but I eat this stuff up, fandom and asexuality together is of huge interest to me.

Leave a Reply

