Question of the Week: October 3rd, 2017

Are birthdays important to you?


It’s my birthday tomorrow!  I usually try and celebrate by going to the zoo, but this year instead I am going on a week long work trip!

Do you have any birthday traditions? Would you like to start any?   Has being ace changed how you feel about celebrations like this?

 

About astarlia

Astarlia is proud of herself for only having volunteered for..... okay if you have to stop and count it's probably too many things isn't it? She is passionate about nerd culture, disability and mental health, alternative relationships, sexuality, and young adult fiction.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Question of the Week: October 3rd, 2017

  1. Rivers says:

    The zoo sounds like a really fun birthday tradition!

    Seeing as the ace community has so many cake jokes (Cake is better than sex, the cake is a lie, etc.), one of the ironic things I’ve found in retrospect to realizing I was ace, is that my favorite cake (that I always have on my birthday) is Oreo ice cream cake–which literally has no actual cake in it.

    The cake really is a lie.

  2. Siggy says:

    One difference between me and my boyfriend is that I usually don’t care about celebrating holidays on the right days, whereas he does. I often wish people happy birthday days or weeks in advance because my thinking is, why procrastinate? My whole family is like this. We are celebrating Thanksgiving early this year to avoid traffic.

    Happy birthday!

  3. Sara K. says:

    What a coincidence, my birthday was yesterday.

    The main thing I did to celebrate was go to a local restaurant which has excellent food but is just above my usual restaurant price range (hence why I rarely go there).

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Happy birthday!

    I don’t really have anything in particular that I do for my birthday, usually someone just buys a dessert for me and that’s it. For my last one I had an actual family party though, that was different. It was more because the rest of the family wanted to than for me though, honestly. I don’t like parties all that much.

    Being ace doesn’t really affect it either way, but there was that one time some kind of ace-related event happened on my birthday.

  5. luvtheheaven says:

    I was going to say I had no birthday traditions BUT that’s just not true. I host a fanvideo collaboration for my own birthday, some years even two: https://youtu.be/GwKkocgBYiM – and I think the first year I did it was 2011? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VTvwU_bUYe8&index=16&list=PLE5A9FEADD628E175 so it’s been going on for quite a few years and I have no intentions of stopping this tradition. I enjoy it SO much, it’s such a good excuse to get my vidder friends in fandom to vid my favorite things. XD I also participate back for their birthday collabs, and we it’s just a fun exchange thing we all do throughout the year. 😛

    Also doing something “in real life” to celebrate, getting gifts, going out to eat, is fun too… but my birthday has not been a particularly big deal in my adulthood?? Idk. Probably quite a bit of a bigger deal for me than for a lot of folks but still not THAT high a level of big deal.

Leave a Reply

