Question of the Week: May 23rd, 2017.

Do you journal or write your thoughts down? Has it helped you work through being ace or any other parts of your life? 

I’ve journalled on and off for years and recently stumbled across Julia Cameron’s Morning Pages activity (write 3 pages in the morning, free hand, about whatever you’re thinking of). While I’ve struggled to do my morning pages every morning, trying to do them reminded me about the joy I feel using private writing and fiction to work through relationships and my feelings. I used to explore what asexuality meant to me in fanfiction and have recently gotten back into writing in general. I have a hard time coming out and saying explicitly what asexuality means to me, in my life, but through characters all my asexual thoughts slip and trickle out. What it means to be asexual comes in drips and drabs and between the margins. It’s there and it’s not. Speaking through someone else is a way to explore saying things I’d never write in a blog post, which always felt reserved for polished and accountable thoughts.

About Talia

Talia is an asexual, nonbinary, vegan-feminist that drinks a lot of coffee and stays up very late playing Blizzard video games and writing fiction. They are working on a PhD in Environmental Studies where they think a lot about oppression as intersectional and impacting identities differentially. Talia has a particular fondness for asexuality, fandom, and Critical Animal Studies. Their personal blog is petuniaparty.tumblr.com
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Question of the Week: May 23rd, 2017.

  1. I’ve written about this at length in the past since I’ve been writing as a way of working through my thoughts and ideas for almost 25 years. What you said about expressing what asexuality means to you really resonated with me because that is a large part of how I use writing as well.

  2. luvtheheaven says:

    I’ve never journaled about asexuality but writing fanfiction about ace characters did feel personal in a different way, perhaps, than blogging. A lot of my blogging is intensely personal though and I’ve used public blogging for unpolished, personal thoughts plenty of times. When I was in high school I kept a journal-ish thing that only my creative writing teacher would see and processed my complicated feelings about my abusive mother that way. I don’t think my diary entries when I was around 7 years old ever got that deep and after that point in my life I never actually wanted to journal, for whatever reason.

  3. Cracticus says:

    I’ve found writing down my thoughts at one point helped me become more comfortable in my grey-A identity. It was at a time when I’d only recently started identifying with that label and and keep finding I was coming across anti-grey-A sentiments in ace spaces. Wring down my thoughts has on occasion, helped me with mental health issues as well. I remember one time looking over letters I’d written to myself in the past and realised that letter-writing-me is a lot nicer person than who I am in my own brain.

  4. Emu says:

    I’ve already been keeping a diary for 26 years. I can certainly see my development, including understanding of my identity, in what I write. However, even though at the age of 9 or 10 I was clearly writing a typical childhood diary, relatively soon I went away from registering what I did towards writing my reflections on different topics. Well, I’m usually satisfied with what I write, however the biggest problem with sharing any of it is its very idiosyncratic character – for example I weave lots of quotes, including self-quotes, into the text, so publishing any of it would require explaining these quotes and often their contexts.

  5. Nowhere Girl says:

    Whoops, I didn’t notice I wrote under a different nickname, the one I usually use on some Polish forums…

  6. I journaled a lot when I was first figuring out my sexuality and gender identity. These days I more often do that processing in therapy or on my Tumblr, but it was a useful outlet and I will still turn to it occasionally.

  7. halfthoughts says:

    I am obsessed with morning pages. I’ve been doing them quite diligently for the last several years. Writing things down has definitely helped me process my aceness. Also, I’d echo what someone else said about how my blog posts often act as an extension of working things out through writing. Also I’m a big fan of The Artist’s Way, which the morning pages are from. Let me know if you have read the book, or ever do. I’d love to hear your thoughts on the artistic process. Hope you continue to enjoy the morning page exercise!

    • Talia says:

      I found her later book The Right to Write first and am working my way through that. When I finish it I plan to pick up The Artist’s Way. I’ll probably love it. I feel so inspired, encouraged, and just excited about writing again when I work through her exercises in The Right to Write. Neat to find another person that does morning pages! I’m slacking a bit lately because it’s hard to juggle a daily practice of yoga, meditation, and morning pages all at the same time. They feel very similar to me and yet they draw out different kinds of introspection.

Leave a Reply

