Question of the Week: May 3rd, 2017

What games have you been playing lately?

We recently acquired a copy of Scythe, which is a board game about an alternate history of eastern Europe, where there are mechs.  It’s a lot of fun, and sometimes we even stop playing Dominion to play it.  Also recently, we have been swept up by Zelda: Breath of the Wild, which is a thing you may have heard of.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Question of the Week: May 3rd, 2017

  1. Rachel says:

    Playing WAY more Skyrim than is probably healthy. And modding it WAY more than it wants to be.

  2. Nowhere Girl says:

    I prefer retro or retro-styled adventure games – for example, from the visual point of view, I love early 90s hand-painted VGA graphics and even good-quality EGA graphics (16 colors), but I really dislike 3D graphics. That’s one of the reasons I mostly avoid newer games unless they are explicitly retro. Recently I’ve completed the fan VGA remake of the Sierra adventure-RPG “Quest for Glory 2” with all three character classes (Fighter, Wizard, Thief). The original was already a great example of how amazing hi-res EGA graphics can look, but the remake is even better and also some new elements have been introduced as “sidequests”. And yesterday I replayed “Simon the Sorcerer” – I have an emulator for DOS games, D-Fend Reloaded (it can also be used to create shortcut profiles for Windows games) and I fell in love with collecting screenshots. On my old computer 4 screenshots could fit in a row, now it’s 6 – for esthetic reasons I prefer having screenshots organized in full rows, so now, unless I had for example 12 or 24 screenshots on my old computer, I have to delete some or collect more. Actually, in case of “Simon the Sorcerer 1” I HAD exactly 24, but it’s a lovely game (though, honestly, I don’t really like it that much in terms of story) and now I have WAY more disk space and so I let myself keep more screenshots.

  3. Katherine says:

    I’ve been playing Yooka-Laylee, a game about two friends having an adventure together with plenty of ridiculous tongue-in-cheek humor and medium awareness. It’s a collect-athon platformer and spiritual successor to Banjo-Kazooie/Banjo-Tooie (originally on the N64, later re-released on XBox-360 virtual console), which were also about two friends having wacky adventures together.

    • Siggy says:

      Yooka-Laylee gives me hope that one day the nostalgia train will move past the SNES era and make a stop at the Gamecube era.

Leave a Reply

