Question of the Week: April 4th, 2017

Are there any new aro or ace words that you’ve been happy to discover?

Lately I’ve been reading a dissertation about the evolution of asexual language up to the year 2013.  There are so many words we take for granted now that were created and became popular during that period.  Some of them, I’m quite grateful for.  But clearly, the evolution of our language didn’t stop in 2013, that’s just beyond the scope of the dissertation.  Are you grateful for any more recent words?

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Question of the Week: April 4th, 2017

  1. doubleink says:

    I don’t know when it was coined, but I pretty much burst into tears when I found caedromantic. I dealt with a huge anxiety cycle after realising my trauma had affected my ability to feel love — it made me really feel broken.in a way I hadn’t done before realising — and finding the term made me feel like …it was okay. Like it was just a thing that happens to people, and it was okay to feel like that. My journey to identifying as my other queer identities was a matter of “learn term, gradually come to identify with it”. With caedro, it was the other way around, and it gave me that classic “that’s me!” feeling. I find a lot of comfort in labels and their implicit solidarity from whoever coined the terms I use.

  2. Blue Ice-Tea says:

    I remember I was really happy when I discovered the word “WTFromantic”, because it was the first time I could describe a position outside of the romantic/aromantic binary. I was also happy when I discovered the word “platoniromantic”, which I like a lot better, and which I now regularly use to describe myself. Even before I discovered the word, I’d realised that I couldn’t distinguish between romantic and platonic love, and that had a huge impact on my sense of self. “Platoniromantic” gave me a language with which to explain that, and also a sense of validation.

    Anyway, there’s a whole dissertation on asexual language? Where can I find it???

  3. ettinacat says:

    Cupioromantic is one word I’m glad I found. It helped me realize that I don’t have to not want romance to be aro.

Leave a Reply

