Question of the Week: February 7th, 2017

Is there anything that you’re eagerly anticipating right now?

Maybe I need to stop following video game news, because 50% of video game news seems to be about hyping games that haven’t been released yet.  In this household, we are Nintendo fans, so we’re awaiting Zelda: BotW and the Nintendo Switch, although we probably won’t even get them on day one.  I am personally excited about the Homestuck game which is supposed to drop at any moment.  And, uh, there’s some shoegaze album I’m looking forward to.

It sucks thinking about how much work I have to do before any of this happens.  Is it Friday yet?  I wish I could just hear about these things after they happened and then I’d feel better.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Question of the Week: February 7th, 2017

  1. BTS is releasing a new album on the 13th and I can’t wait.

  2. Writer Ace says:

    I’m eagerly anticipating starting grad school, though I have to wait until September for that. And I’m not sure if it could be considered anticipating, but I’m close to being done with a draft of one of novels, which I’m really excited about (though the draft itself is a mess and needs a lot of work).

  3. luvtheheaven says:

    I was just talking today about how I’m excited that Lego Batman already has 97% on Rotten Tomatoes and it’s not released till the end of this week. I’m planning to see it on the federal holiday Monday the 20th but yeah.

    But the main thing I’m eagerly anticipating is going to ClexaCon the first weekend of March. It’s coming up soon and I have so much TV I want to catch up on before then haha and I’m really excited but also pretty nervous. I’m going to a conference for LGBTQ women in fandom and allies where asexuality will be explicitly mentioned in at least 1 or 2 panels but I’m still not really sure where I’ll fit in or how much I’ll enjoy it. The main things in nervous about are that I’m going to a city I’ve never been before all alone, and to a conference all alone, and it’ll be a new set of experiences for me there. But I am excited and happy, I’m determined to make the most of this trip.

  4. Carmilla DeWinter says:

    Geeky vacation in Sicily in a couple of weeks. (Haven’t had a real vacation/travel for sheer fun since June ’15.)

  5. Brin says:

    I, too, am looking forward to video games.

    When Pokemon Go came out, I didn’t have a phone good enough to run it. In January, I got a new phone, and now have the hardware. I’ve even made plans with my mother to borrow her data connection so that I don’t need to pay extra for a separate one of my own.

    There is one problem left: I live in Canada. In February. The weather, therefore, is very uncooperative.

    Eventually, spring will come, and I will finally get a chance to learn to speak Pokemon jargon. (I’ve never consumed Pokemon media before, and that’s definitely taken a toll on my cultural literacy.) I might even have fun, too. 😉

    It sucks thinking about how much work I have to do before any of this happens.

    Yeah. It’s hard to look forward too much, because with the way my semesters are currently set up, finals will happen before spring does. When I think too hard about the pleasant parts of the next couple months, I tend to get the unpleasant parts too.

    I learned about Wi-Fi mapping while researching ways to get enough Internet for Pokemon Go, so I’m also looking forward to getting a chance to flesh out the map of my town. (I did part of it during the January thaw–enough to make it clear that I’m going to need a data connection, because the public Wi-Fi coverage around here sucks–but I’m still curious about the rest regardless of whether I actually use it. It’s nice to know your options, and the public map might come in handy for other people.)

    That’s a little more doable than Pokemon Go, because even a single above-freezing non-raining day is enough to make progress. I’m cautiously hopeful about this Saturday, when it’s predicted to be +4C.

  6. Elizabeth says:

    Hmm, well the games I was REALLY looking forward to (Sun/Moon) have already come out, but I’m looking forward to eventually playing other games I’ve been less eagerly anticipating. I am also a Nintendo fan, and eventually hope I can afford a Switch, but that will be a long way off. I’ll probably play the Zelda game on Wii U instead.

    I guess the main thing I’m anticipating right now is new episodes of SU.

  7. queenieofaces says:

    The final book of Dragonoak is releasing at the end of this month, and I’m currently composed entirely of excitement.

    Also, farther in the future, I’m really looking forward to doing second semester of New World Magischola in June.

  8. Blue Ice-Tea says:

    Thor: Ragnarök! The Doctor Strange stinger got me excited. It’s still a nine month wait, but that’s short compared to the 3 1/4 years I’ve already been waiting since the ending of Thor 2. Anything cool coming out in the meanwhile to help tide me over till November?

Leave a Reply

