Question of the Week: January 17th 2017.

Do you identify with the terms nonsexual or nonlibidoist? If so, what do they mean to you?

Years ago when I first heard the terms nonsexual and nonlibidoist they were alternatives for asexuality. We might have called ourselves the nonsexual or nonlibidoist community rather than the asexual community. I’m personally glad this didn’t happen because I wouldn’t feel I fit into a nonsexual or nonlibidoist community. To me asexual, nonsexual, and nonlibidoist can overlap in people, but they can also be pretty different. I haven’t seen these terms used as much lately and so I decided to look them up, curious now that nonlibidoism is described as a type of asexuality.

About Talia

Talia is an asexual, nonbinary trans, vegan-feminist that drinks a lot of coffee and stays up very late playing World of Warcraft and writing fiction. They are working on a PhD in Environmental Studies where they think a lot about oppression as intersectional and impacting identities differentially. Talia has a particular fondness for asexuality, fandom, and Critical Animal Studies. Their personal blog is petuniaparty.tumblr.com
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Question of the Week: January 17th 2017.

  1. luvtheheaven says:

    I don’t identify with nonsexual, barely have heard the term, but when listing off my sexual identity very specifically I quite often do specify being nonlibidoist. (I’m a sex-averse, non-libidoist, aromantic spectrum asexual cis woman.)

    Back in September 2015, I wrote a blog post for the “Living Asexuality” carnival of aces topic about being nonlibidoist, and it’s one of my most commented on blog posts: http://wp.me/p49kKH-gh

    It was also reblogged a lot on tumblr: http://luvtheheaven.tumblr.com/post/136204244272/non-libidoism-asexuality-aka-i-have-never-had with some interesting commentary.

  2. kaleighaw17 says:

    I’ve never used the terms to describe myself, even though they do fit me, because I feel more drawn to “sex-repulsed.” It’s not JUST that I feel no sexual desire or that I have zero sex drive, the very idea of sex disgusts me. If it didn’t go all that way with me–feeling nauseated by the idea of sex–I might call myself a nonlibidoist, but “sex-repulsed” feels more accurate.

  3. Rachel says:

    I use nonlibidoist as a technical term (my sex drive: a comfortable and eternal zero), though it’s not one that I wear as an identity label. To me it’s a rather incidental feature to my asexuality.

  4. Sennkestra says:

    I identify with libidoist, does that count?

    For me, the nonlibidoist/libidoist has always been explained as a subset of asexuality ever since I first encountered in 2009/2010, as a way to distinguish aces who have a sex drive and/or enjoy masturbation from those who don’t. (Although perhaps for of a separate trait than a subset, since there has been allowance for non-asexual non-libidoists).

    I’ve used it libidoist/libidinous less as it’s fallen out of favor, since it mostly just confuses people now, but back in the AVEN days I found it useful as a quick way to communicate that part of my identity, since the experiences of libidinous and non-libidinous aces can be really different. It was also more of a hot topic back then, since there was a lot of tension around the subject of libidinous aces at the time. (which, interestingly, has never really taken root in the tumblr/blogging ace community; there, concern over sex-aversion is more common, perhaps as a direct reaction to the issues that AVEN and it’s early contemporaties had).

Leave a Reply

