Question of the Week: December 27th, 2016

How are you spending your holiday time?

My family is going on some sort of vacation to a nearby city.  And by family, I mean my extended family.  There might be over 20 of us?  I really don’t know how that’s going to work out.  My boyfriend doesn’t like the idea.

Anyway, for the rest of my vacation, I expect there to be a lot of board games.  (I say “expect” because I wrote this QoTW ahead of time.)  Lots and lots.  We will play board games nonstop if we can get away with it.  Oh, there might be a jigsaw puzzle somewhere in the middle.  And I’ve started working on my novel again recently.  But truly, board games are where my heart’s at.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Question of the Week: December 27th, 2016

  1. Sarah M. says:

    I’m in my hometown visiting my family for the holidays. I was going to spend my holiday time going to Scottish dance parties (because that’s where my heart’s at) and visiting all of the friends I don’t see very often because I don’t live here anymore, and helping my mom around the house, but then I got sick…

  2. ettina says:

    We’re fixing up an office building because my Mom is starting a law firm.

  3. Sennkestra says:

    I only had a couple days off for the holidays, so most of it was just working as usual, with a short long weekend trip down to SoCal to see family and high school friends. We don’t really do the big family reunion thing though – my extended family is far too scattered so it’s just me, my sister, and my parents this year. Our holiday traditions include watching movie screeners, eating a lot of food from our favorite restaurants, and opening presents christmas morning and making a big breakast. (followed by a second-day-of-hannukah/not christmas party at a high school friend’s place in the evening). We also played a lot of pokemon GO, because we need long walks after all that food and it turns out the beach and the park by my house are both great for gathering uncommon pokemon.

    I also got to try a few new board games though!
    – The game of real life: a depressingly pessimistic parody of the Game of Life with accidental pregnancy, drugs, stds, and dying pointlessly. It’s a bit too depressing for me to play it more than once, but the mechanic of taking notes and narrating your characters life story at the end is kind of cool.
    – Batavia: The rules of this east india trading company themed game take way too long to explain, especially with like 6 different types of counters and a rulebook that I suspect was not well translated from a language other than english, but once we finally figured it out it was actually a fun game, and not that time-consuming – the first playthrough was rocky but I’d definitely be down to play again.

    (we also did a jigsaw puzzle that turned out to be hell because like 1/3 of the pieces were all just a light blue background with no distinguishing features, but we did feel very accomplished once we finally finished it)

    I get a few more days off for New Years, but I’ll probably just use it to have a movie night in with whatever friends are still in town and get some new years cleaning/reorganizing done.

Leave a Reply

