Question of the Week: November 29th, 2016

How have you dealt with the US Elections in the past month?

I know many people have chosen to avoid talking about it, and if you wish, you may avoid participation in this thread.

And yeah, I’ve taken an avoidant strategy too.  I was so optimistic about the election on November 8th, and it was such a disappointment.  Some people have chosen to rise up and try to do something about it.  But angry activism doesn’t really work for me; I’m more of a sad activist.  It sure is a pity that California is the state with the highest number and fraction of immigrants, and yet we have no real power because of a system that won’t change any time soon.

To be honest, I haven’t really avoided the topic at all.  Around here we’ve been talking about the election pretty much non-stop.  Mostly we alternate between talking about how awful Trump is, with making light of how ridiculously awful Trump is.  But I’ve largely avoided talking about the election here, on the internet, and I suppose the other bloggers have chosen the same.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Question of the Week: November 29th, 2016

  1. yoonede says:

    I spent about a wee,k grieving and writing in my journal. Took my therapist’s advice to explore what Trump and his election brings up from my childhood (alot, it seems). Then I signed up for the mailing lists for the ACLU and the Southern Poverty Law Center, joined a couple of progressive agenda groups, and started reading about actions I can take to be part of the change movement. And then I did a loving kindness meditation on Trump. When I feel like my anger won’t be a harmful force in the world, I intend to take actions to get politically involved on the local level. Oh, and I followed all my elected officials on Twitter.

  2. Sennkestra says:

    I’ve mostly ‘dealt with it’ by switching from constantly checking election news to constantly checking for more news about Trump’s cabinet and transition team nominations…which is not really helpful for the whole avoiding-despair thing, but I like to be informed and prepared so it’s something I want to do anyway.

    This election is also what made me switch my voter registration from unafilliated to Democrat – as a resident of an open democratic primary state, it doesn’t actually make that much of a practical difference (other than affecting what mail I get) but this election has really driven home the importance of pragmatic political alliance, so it seemed fitting to me.

    This also happens to be the first year where I’ve actually had a consistent full-time job, so I’m also looking into getting into the habit of year-end (or year-round?) giving and orgs like planned parenthood/ACLU/SPLC etc. are definitely on my shortlist.

  3. elainexe says:

    Poorly. I can’t easily express all that it’s meant to me without getting into other life things, difficulties that predate the election circus and would take a while to explain. But boy does the election not help….amplifying disgusting rhetoric. And more neutral rhetoric that still impacts me negatively.

  4. Rachel says:

    With bitter humor. Laugh-or-cry situation and all that. This is the closest we’ll ever get to actually electing Lex Luthor to the presidency.

Leave a Reply

