Question of the Week: November 15th, 2016

What hobbies have you abandoned, and why?

Some years ago, I picked up electric guitar, and then dropped it after a year.  I think it would just be too much time investment to get to a point where I could perform, and I don’t even like performing.  What I really wanted out of it was the ability to recognize and transcribe chords, and I felt frustrated how difficult it continued to be.

Another hobby I used to have was puzzle solving.  Like the kind of problems a math teacher might provide “for fun”.  Here I just found other hobbies that were similar but felt more fulfilling.  Like blogging, or origami.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Question of the Week: November 15th, 2016

  1. elainexe says:

    Uhhhhhhhh. Lots of things XDDD Mental illness will do that for ya.
    Singing, drawing….uh, other kinds of art and craft things. Swimming, running. Having a life, dropped that hobby XDDD

  2. Kasey Weird says:

    I used to do lots of jigsaw puzzles, but stopped since I moved out of my parents’ house, as I don’t have space for them in apartments.

  3. Sennkestra says:

    Funny that you mention origami, because that’s actually one of the hobbies I grew out of….I’ve always been a fan of arts and crafts, and I did a fair amount of origami as a kid, but I got really into modular origami especially in middle school and high school, where I spent a lot of time stuck at a desk with nothing but paper to entertain myself – I ended up with a lot of modular icosahedrons and armies of paper frogs back in those days.

    Now that I’m past college, though, I just don’t find myself in that kind of situation very often, and I’ve found that I have other hobbies I enjoy even more in the spare time that I do have. I still make a few models every now and then, but it’s not really a regular hobby the way it once was for me.

  4. Sara K. says:

    One of my top hobbies when I was in high school was studying Ancient Greek. I fell out of that because in my early college years I was too busy, and then when I had more time again I was studying Chinese instead.

  5. I used to have a lot of hobbies, writing (by hand not typing), drawing, knitting, scrapbooking, sewing, but I pretty much stopped them all because of my hand tremors and pain getting worse. I really want to try cross stitch but am wary of investing in something I can’t always do.

Leave a Reply

