Question of the Week: November 1st, 2016

Do you like costumes?

While trick-or-treating is mostly popular among young kids, many young adults I know celebrate Halloween by holding costume parties.  I basically don’t celebrate Halloween myself…

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Question of the Week: November 1st, 2016

  1. Nowhere Girl says:

    I don’t celebrate Halloween because for us Europeans it’s artificial. Yes, Halloween has become known, but I don’t accept this new tradition – not because it’s “culturally alien”, but because it’s a shallow culturally alien tradition (and I see no reason for myself to adopt shallow foreign traditions, only those which offer something, such as foreign spiritual traditions) and because it was transplanted here for two reasons exclusively: a) commercial reasons, b) naive infatuation with American culture. No thanks, that’s not for me.
    And, by the way, Halloween is about being more or less scary and I’m TOTALLY TERRIFIED of horror books and movies.
    However, it doesn’t mean I haven’t read a bit about costumes and it seems women who dare not to desire being sexy have a hard time because costumes for women are usually developed around some guys’ erotic fantasies – sexy nurses, sexy policewomen, sexy animals, sexy vampires and all that extremely predictable stuff…

  2. Nope, not into costumes or Halloween. Also, I work from home and don’t exactly have the world’s most active social life, so there isn’t much point to it!

  3. Jen says:

    I do drag, burlesque, cosplay, and steampunk so you can probably guess what my answer is. That being said, I’ve grown to dislike Halloween due to the offensive costumes I see. There’s also a little bitterness about how it’s unacceptable for me and my friends to dress up any other time of the year (a friend was actually barred from entering Six Flags just for being pastel goth… and she was pretty toned down). I still enjoy seeing all the spooky stuff and the kids just enjoying getting to be their favorite characters (and hopefully they’ll learn that it’s okay to dress up whenever).

  4. I have always loved Halloween and dressing up. Partly because I identify pretty strongly with the witchy aspects of the holiday, but also because it allows me to show off a different side of myself. I love my body and dressing in ways that accentuate my curves, but to dress like that normally gives people false expectations. On Halloween it is like getting a free pass to dress however you please without anyone expecting anything sexual from you.

Leave a Reply

