Question of the Week: March 22nd, 2016

Do you ever feel a disconnect between online and offline groups?

To me, the big thing I notice is that people offline are very quick to wave away internet disputes and arguments.  It’s all a tempest in a teapot to them!  Or worse, they’re completely unaware of those arguments, because they have the audacity to follow different websites from me.

On the one hand, I can get behind that sentiment, because the internet is ridiculous and I am ridiculous.  On the other hand, you don’t say that.  If some people on the internet care about a thing, they care about it and nobody can take away from that.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Question of the Week: March 22nd, 2016

  1. Silvermoon says:

    I find that offline tends to be more of a social setting, and/or sharing personal stories whereas groups online I pay attention to are, well, a lot more like this. Really in-depth analysis of our community + wider society.
    And people offline seem to think that I know a lot but really I just sometimes mention concepts and discussions I’ve read about on here. ^_^”

  2. Carmilla DeWinter says:

    It depends a lot on age. I’m scraping digital native, most of my ace people are a bit older, so most of them don’t follow the discussion here. But they do realize what happens here does influence the community. But in the end, we all agree: Internet is for activism and finding people, offline is for hanging out with said people.

Leave a Reply

