Question of the Week: February 23rd, 2016

Among the lesser known aro/ace labels, are there any you have a soft spot for?

It doesn’t need to be a word that you identify with, just something that you like, even if for nonsensical reasons.

I have a soft spot for quoiro, which roughly means that it doesn’t make sense to apply romantic orientation to yourself.  I don’t identify with quoiro, but I think it is simple, elegant, and sounds nice too.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Question of the Week: February 23rd, 2016

  1. Silvermoon says:

    I thought it was more commonly used, but I’ve seen aces online who don’t know this shorthand- I love “biro” as short for biromantic.

    • queenieofaces says:

      Oh my gosh, that takes me back! I haven’t seen anyone using biro for YEARS. I see birom more commonly now (possibly to parallel heterorom, since heteroro sounds odd).

  2. Sennkestra says:

    I still have a soft spot for OTJ, just because of ridiculous backstory. And zuchinni for the same reasons.

    (Basically, at the height of the sexual-allosexual-consexual-zsexual-poikkisexual-etc. terminology wars, someone got fed up and joked that we should just use the term “Orange Twizzled Jumpers” for non-asexual people, since everything else seemed to offend at least one group and the objecting non-aces didn’t seem to be suggesting replacements either.)

    • Carmilla DeWinter says:

      Yay for the (bad) old days. I think it was aceadmiral who coined the term OTJ. *headscratch* And kaz came up with zucchinis, I believe.
      Personal fave is zucchini, too.

      • AceAdmiral says:

        No, it wasn’t me, it was Greg. I agree that it was sorely needed, and honestly sometimes I want to use it now even though I know no one will understand me.

Leave a Reply

