Question of the Week: February 16th, 2016

What do you think of Valentine’s Day? 

Usually I shrug Valentine’s Day off as an over-hyped excuse to increase sales and expand markets. I must have become quite skilled at shrugging it off because I barely notice the advertising anymore. They still make commercials for it right? Thank you AdBlock and Netflix.

This year I completely forgot that Valentine’s Day was coming up until 6pm the night before. I typically make small plans of the ‘hey it’s Valentine’s Day, let’s hang out, that’s a good excuse to see you, don’t get me anything,’ sort. I put off making plans so late that I reminded myself of those horrible jokes about February 13th as ‘Desperation Day.’ I had a good laugh at myself, mulled over if I wanted to just give it up or go for the irony, and then asked someone on a last minute date anyways. I wanted to hang out. Who cared what it looked like? Luckily he was free.

On February 15th a guy I used to flirt with popped out of nowhere. He’d been the one to cut off contact, but suddenly he was acting as if nothing had happened. Oh if I had the time, Valentine’s Day would be an interesting socio-cultural phenomenon to study.

About Talia

Talia is an asexual, nonbinary trans, vegan-feminist that drinks a lot of coffee and stays up very late playing World of Warcraft and writing fiction. They are working on a PhD in Environmental Studies where they think a lot about oppression as intersectional and impacting identities differentially. Talia has a particular fondness for asexuality, fandom, and Critical Animal Studies. Their personal blog is petuniaparty.tumblr.com
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Question of the Week: February 16th, 2016

  1. Mikayla says:

    I find Valentine’s Day aggravating. Mostly because of the messages that everyone must be in a relationship to be happy that seem to go along with it.

    The past two years I have spent Valentine’s Day at a Doctor Who convention. I have enjoyed this immensely. Everyone’s too busy with the convention, and it is like Valentine’s Day didn’t happen at all.

  2. Alex Black says:

    I didn’t even notice it was Valentines Day until a friend pointed it out on the evening of the 14th. When I do notice the holiday, though, I find it very annoying. It’s yet another reminder that romantic relationships are very overemphasized in my culture, and that platonic relationships are seen as “lesser”, and people like me are just generally erased as a matter of course.

  3. Victrix says:

    Normally I get irritated, however this year I barely even noticed. I think Deadpool got more attention in my circle.
    I only just started to hearing the regular (and disturbing) valentine ads today. I also benefited from a Valentines day sale saving me $50 on some DLC (which saved me about 25% when getting all the DLC for that game).

  4. teenbutch says:

    I used to get pretty pissed off with Valentine’s Day because it felt like I never really fitted in with that day and somehow it does slightly feel like that’s half the point with Valentine’s- but now I just view it as that one day in the year where we honor romanticism!

  5. Carmilla DeWinter says:

    Ah, there’s the beauty of living in Germany: Very little Valentine’s stuff going on. That bit can mostly be avoided via not watching TV. I am fervently hoping this phenomenon will stay in its countries of origin and not come haunt us like Halloween already does.

  6. doctorazo says:

    V-day generally is like a normal day for me, only sometimes I feel alienated because it reminds me of how so many people are or have been in relationships and it gets portrayed as the norm and even essential. The media sure does like to rub it in people’s faces. One good thing though is the discount for chocolates shortly afterwards.

  7. Aqua says:

    Valentine’s Day mostly feels like just another day to me, but I dislike how overemphasized romantic relationships are, even more than usual.

    So many couples buy gifts for each other on Valentine’s Day, that it’s hard for me to tell if they’re doing so because they actually want to, or if they just feel obligated to buy a gift because it’s Valentine’s Day.

  8. Hollis says:

    I honestly unironically love Valentine’s Day. Not the heteronormative junk the media tries to sell, but the idea that it is worth taking time aside to tell people in your life that you care about them. I think that’s something we don’t do enough. I know it’s not typical to celebrate non-romantic love or what Valentine’s Day is “about”, but it’s what I choose to celebrate about it.

    And I unironically love the shitty Internet Valentine memes (god, I love them SO MUCH), particularly the ones that aren’t sexual or romantically inclined. I unironically love the weird Valentine’s hearts. Also 100% of the chocolate that goes on sale afterwards because chocolate.

Leave a Reply

