Question of the Week: October 20th, 2015

Are you doing anything for Asexual Awareness Week?

There’s an impressive list of projects going on right now.  I particularly want to plug the Live Q&A Panel tomorrow, which will include a couple contributors to The Asexual Agenda.

I didn’t really intend to do anything special for Asexual Awareness Week.  However, I will be on Bi Any Means, a queer humanist podcast, later this week.  And there’s another project I’ve been working on, the details of which will not be disclosed.  You’ll find out what it is soon enough.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Question of the Week: October 20th, 2015

  1. As I’ve done the past two years, I’ve complied a large list of links to posts and articles about asexuality and am tweeting them out all week. I also compile the links into daily linkspams that are posted to my Tumblr for reference.

    I have an essay on visibility and the need for Muslim communities to be inclusive of asexual Muslims, which will be published on a mainstream Muslim commentary site some time this week. This is the first time I’ve attempted to submit a visibility article during AAW.

  2. queenieofaces says:

    I’m running the linkspam challenge, which mostly involves me making everyone else do the work and then curating their linkspams, and I’ll be on the panel tomorrow night, but otherwise I’m busy reading 200+ pages a day so I don’t have a ton of spare time for AAW this year.

  3. dcbilliot says:

    For Asexual Awareness Week I am presenting a workshop for SpectrumLSU and will hopefully also be playing a sort of Jeopardy at the workshop that will make fun of the names asexuals get called. Think along the lines of “I’ll take amoebas for 500, Alex.” However, the game depends on whether or not I have the emotional strength to actually put it together. And as of right now, with the article that came out yesterday, I don’t think it’s going to happen.

    I’ve also printed out some pamphlets to give out at the workshop and might give the leftovers to Spectrum to handout during their tabling. So we’ll see how that works out for me.

  4. Victrix says:

    I’m not doing anything. Currently have to work out plans for the next couple of months meetups and work on NFP related stuff. I’m also in the process of moving everything to a new computer this week and that’s going to take till the end of the weekend.

  5. Carmilla DeWinter says:

    One week of flag colored outfits on my ace blog. Poking the German facebook groups with suggestions in German. One big print piece on Saturday, if my information is correct (but that’s more of a coincidence).

  6. I’m so busy, I can’t even stop long enough to tell you how busy I am!

    I’ve got my main blog, where I’m posting links and images and things. There’s also the occasional giveaway that’ll show up here: http://redbeardace.tumblr.com/

    I’ve got the “Aces Want You To Know” project: http://aceswantyoutoknow.tumblr.com/

    I’m trying to give someone a year’s worth of web hosting if they seem like they’ll be able to pull together a useful ace-related website: http://redbeardace.tumblr.com/post/131492691593/asexuality-website-contest

    I’m trying to light up the Twitter Machine: https://twitter.com/AceArchive

    I challenged everyone on my Facebook to tell someone else about asexuality.

    I also came out to my entire office and have set up an Ace Info Display, with some pamphlets, books, cards, etc.

    I’m also going to be in tomorrow’s Q&A Panel.

    And there’s bound to be more as the week goes on.

  7. Elizabeth says:

    Weeell, I was supposed to have a major presentation this week, but almost everyone I was supposed to be presenting to canceled at the last minute, so I guess it’ll happen next week? Or something?

    The weather has been terrible here, so things have turned out to be much less feasible than they should’ve been. Mostly all I’ve gotten to do is run around town in ace shirts/colors/ring, and get glared at by disgruntled middle-aged men.

Leave a Reply

