Question of the Week: September 29th, 2015.

In an imaginary future where everyone knows about asexuality, what would you want to be talking about?

Recently I’ve been reading about critical utopias and they’re sometimes described as places we can imagine to help us transform our present reality and not actual future societies that we’re trying to build right now. Siggy reminded me of this when he commented on the September 2015 panel discussion about asexual visibility, “I’d rather just act like people should already know. Let’s talk about gatekeeping, sexual violence, sex ed, navigating relationships, community building, and so forth. And let’s spend some time not doing activism at all, you know, just having fun.”

So what would you want to talk about?

About Talia

Talia is an asexual, nonbinary, vegan-feminist that drinks a lot of coffee and stays up very late playing Blizzard video games and writing fiction. They are working on a PhD in Environmental Studies where they think a lot about oppression as intersectional and impacting identities differentially. Talia has a particular fondness for asexuality, fandom, and Critical Animal Studies. Their personal blog is petuniaparty.tumblr.com
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Question of the Week: September 29th, 2015.

  1. luvtheheaven says:

    I would love for there to be so much more scientific research done about asexual people, as well as thorough research on all gender and sexual minorities. I want people in all fields that study human beings — psychology, sociology, anthropology, medicine, etc to be really learning more about all of the people out there who identify with asexuality. I don’t know. I feel like there is so much that could be learned about but it’s hard to even study at this point since so many people who could potentially identify as ace don’t even know about the identity, and so many studies about sexuality assume asexuals don’t exist.

  2. I talk about gatekeeping a lot (it’s the biggest bee in my bonnet). I think navigating relationships is another super important topic that needs unpacking and nuanced discussion.

  3. kaleighaw17 says:

    I would want to talk about the complexities in defining and/or negotiating relationships. Getting lots of input, ideas, theories on what defines “friendship” versus “queerplatonic” verus “romantic” and maybe in a sense detaching a lot of the romantic connotation from specific behaviors so that friends can feel “freer” to do those things without people interpreting it in a romantic way. And of course I’d also be interested in talking about getting more (and more diverse) representation in books and movies/tv.

  4. I would want to talk about the multiplicity of ways to come to an asexual identity, and do more work against the gatekeeping that happens around the sexual-attraction definition of asexuality. I’m starting to talk about this a little, because it’s become a lot more salient to me in my everyday life now that I’ve figured out that I do experience sexual attraction, but because I am sex-averse and fulfilled in sexless relationships (and because sexual attraction hasn’t ever motivated me to want to spend more time around a person), “asexual” is the word that fits me best.

  5. Societal structures of care and ways to reform family law so that you don’t need to be married to get certain benefits. Compulsory sexuality and sex normativity and how they affect aces who are variously situated in terms of class, race, age, dis/ability, and other factors. Issues of consent, sexual coercion, and sexual violence. Asexuality in non-Western and pre-modern historical contexts; dealing with problematic historical aces (or people speculated to have been asexual). How asexuality is similar or different from the experience of being desexualized by others. Experiences of asexual Muslims of different backgrounds.

  6. Siggy says:

    Honestly, some of the first things that come to mind have (probably) little to do with asexuality at all. I’d want to talk about economic inequality, classism, widespread myths about macroeconomics, implementing guaranteed minimum income. I suppose there’s already lots of space to talk about such things, and I’m not very attentive to it now, so why would widespread awareness of asexuality change things?

Leave a Reply

