Question of the Week: June 23rd, 2015

Have you done anything, or will you do anything for pride this year?

Since I live in the SF Bay Area, pride events occur in the upcoming weekend, and we have our annual unconference.  So I’m looking forward to that.  I usually march in the SF pride parade too, but ugh, I’m not really feeling it this year.  Maybe I’ll just watch the parade for once.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Question of the Week: June 23rd, 2015

  1. Writer Ace says:

    I watched the DC pride parade for the first time this year (and then complained about it on my Tumblr). I don’t know if it’s just the DC parade (or if was just me), but it kind of felt like one big reminder that people even in the queer community don’t really make space for us. Chances are I’ll go again, but…I guess I’m not sure if it’s something that I’m supposed to feel like I belong at. (And now I’m done being mopey for the moment.)

  2. queenieofaces says:

    Can’t do anything for Pride this year ’cause I’m in Japan the whole time. *sigh*

  3. There was a conversation at the conference about aces appearing at pride events. One person talked about how they had heard from someone whose therapist had seen an ace contingent in a parade and that was enough to convince the therapist that asexuality was a real thing.

    I think in a lot of cases, it’s not a matter of “not making space”, it’s a matter of us not taking the space ourselves. There won’t be an ace pride group marching, unless a bunch of aces get together and decide to march. People don’t see aces marching, so they get discouraged and don’t think about marching next year, which causes other people to get discouraged, and so on.

  4. Elizabeth says:

    I really, really wish our Pride event here had been tomorrow, not last week! It would have looked so different.

  5. Last year I wrote a piece here about why deciding whether to attend Pride can be more complicated when you’re visibly Muslim. I wouldn’t feel comfortable going by myself.

    Complicating matters this year is that Pride falls during Ramadan (this will also be true for the next couple of years) – I’m in the middle of a month of 18-hour fasts. It would take me over an hour each way on the bus to get into Seattle plus the marching around. Add in that we’re experiencing a record-breaking heat wave and there’s a real risk of both exhaustion and heatstroke.

    I’ve actually come to think in recent months that I would be more interested in taking part in Dyke March than Pride proper and it’s probably more my style.

  6. Hollis says:

    I’m not because I pretty much categorically work weekends. I did manage to get one whitewater festival weekend off in July, and that’s waaaaayyyyyy more of a priority for me than Pride. I’m a little sad I can’t go because I’ve been wanting to go for the past like 4 years and I’ve always had to work.

Leave a Reply

