Linkspam: March 20th, 2015

Every Friday, we will share links to news, blogs, and anything else we find interesting.  We can’t catch everything, so you are invited to self-promote in the comments!

Tristifere started a new blog about asexual history, and asexual perspectives on history.  Her first post, discussing what asexual history is and isn’t, is up.

killerbee13 is looking for grey-A/demi people who share xyr experiences.

There’s been a fair amount of discussion on Coy’s blog about discussion bubbles in the ace community.

redbeardace wants to know things that make women doubt they’re asexual.

The Globe and Mail ran a piece on asexuality.

An academic article on Sexual Configurations Theory was published.

Jo wrote a guide on how to be an ally to asexual people.

Cinderace wrote about romantic desire.

Remember that Jezebel article on asexuality that many people were complaining about?  Jezebel posted a followup interview setting the record straight.

chekhovandowl is looking for aromantic perspectives.

About queenieofaces

QueenieOfAces is a graduate student in the U.S. studying Japanese religion. She is a queer asexual. She also blogs over at Concept Awesome and runs Resources for Ace Survivors. She is never quite sure what to write in these introduction things, but this one time she accidentally got a short story on asexuality published in an erotica magazine.
This entry was posted in Linkspam. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Linkspam: March 20th, 2015

  1. Cody says:

    Wewt! I was the person in the Jezebel interview. I was scoping on the net to see if anyone noticed the correction and if it had been received well. I know we all have different opinions and there was no guarantee people would like what I had to say, but at the very least we got the definition corrected somewhat! I wasn’t in full charge of the editing but it remained mostly intact and there was a lot of transparency in the process. For what it’s worth, Tracy was genuinely apologetic to the Ace community and really seemed to want to put things to rights.

    • Siggy says:

      I thought it was great! I don’t recall anything I disagreed with. I was worried that it might have been too long, losing readers, but the interview appears to be *more* popular than the original Jezebel article.

      • Cody says:

        Lucky! : D It took a few days to get going. It was almost a week before I got a response to my critique, then it took a few days for her to run the idea of an interview by her editor, 2 days for me to write it (there was much editing down. I’m wordy.) and then three or four days before it posted. I’m shocked at how well it’s been received. I was so careful about insisting on a fake name cause I was worried about getting shredded on the internet because it can be such a contentious issue with some. Now I almost wish I hadn’t because everyone’s wanted to have such productive conversations and discussions (even when they disagree with some of what I say) that it would have been fun to have engaged more.

        I had really wanted it to be way more intersectional though. I was trying to draw all sorts of connections to different marginalized queer groups and show how related some of our issues were. In the end, much of it was edited out to keep a clean focus on asexuality in particular so I am a bit bummed some of that was left out. But overall I feel like they really tried to keep my actual words intact. Though they did take out my usage of the word “Fuckity”. That was disappointing. They left “fetch” though, so I forgive them.

      • Cody says:

        Oh, wait. You said it was too long, not it was too long before it came out! Sorry. (Reading comprehension fail.)

        Yes, well, yes. Glad it worked out!

  2. acetylcholine says:

    That article of SCT was pretty interesting (very long though!). Thanks for sharing it! I love all of the different things in the linkspams!

Leave a Reply

