Question of the Week: March 17th, 2015

Do you ever do anything to save old things on the internet you liked?

I’m very much a minimalist, not just with regard to material goods, but also with regards to links.  Sometimes I bookmark websites–never to specific blog posts or anything like that–but unless I’m actively visiting the website, it doesn’t serve much purpose to me.  I might as well get rid of old bookmarks, and sometimes I do.  Actually I find getting rid of old links cathartic.

If I really need to find a link to an old blog post, I just use the search function.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Question of the Week: March 17th, 2015

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I’ve sporadically saved links, and I’ve learned that when I don’t I tend to regret it. Searching tends to be a pain and not actually show me the very specific thing I’m looking for. So I try to save links more often these days.

    Bookmarks don’t work too well because I change browsers and devices so frequently. I like using Pocket and Twitter to save or share and save. I also keep spare drafts in WP with links in them. If it’s for a project I’m working on with other people and we have a Google Doc, I’ll use that. If it’s relevant to a book I’m writing, I stick the link AND quote part of it in a Scrivener document.

  2. I use Delicious.com to save links. I’ve tried a few other systems over the years but they either went defunct or weren’t effective for what I wanted to do. I’ve used Delicious for ten years now so let’s just say I have a LOT of links saved, LOL. (I also use it to archive links from Twitter.)

    Searching for old links usually doesn’t work well for me if I don’t remember exactly how I found the link before, so having a tagged archive of links to look through really helps me in locating things.

  3. elainexe says:

    I mostly just favorite things on big sites. Other than that….no. But it would be nice to have links. There are a lot of awesome things I’ve read that I’ll probably never find again. I guess it hasn’t occurred to me to save them most of the time. If I’m doing a specific project, I make a folder in my browser to store links.
    Delicious.com sounds like it might be nice to try though….

  4. cinderace says:

    I use Diigo, which I found a few months ago after finally getting fed up with the limitations of bookmarking things in Chrome. It’s so much easier to find the links again when you can tag them, and another feature of Diigo’s that I really like is that you can annotate the text of the webpages you save, highlighting sections or writing notes, and you can also just write a general note about the page when you save it. So now I never have to worry about finding something in my link collection and wondering why I saved it! I save a lot of things, maybe too many, but I figure better safe than sorry; might as well make it easy for myself to find it again in case I ever want to.

  5. luvtheheaven says:

    I bookmark a lot of things temporarily, if I haven’t gotten a chance to finish (or start) reading a fanfiction story or a good blog post, haven’t gotten a chance to sit down and watch a video yet… but over time I end up saving more links that way than I ever end up getting back to, so eventually I need to sort of clean out my bookmarks. I never “save links” for things I’m done with. I never think that I’m gonna need them again. I don’t know. I guess I use the internet differently… ?

    • cinderace says:

      I save the link when something really resonates with or interests me; I might never actually go back and read it again, but I like knowing I could if I wanted to. I just wouldn’t want something that I found meaningful to be completely lost in the internet. I also save things that I feel would be good resources if I ever needed to explain different aspects of asexuality or feminism to someone; I just like building up this library of different articles that I can pull out if someone asks a question like, “Why should feminists care about racism?” Because I can give my own explanation, sure, but I know someone else has said it much better.

  6. Aqua says:

    I bookmark a lot of sites, and save the links to others by typing part of the URL in until the link I’m looking for shows up below the URL bar. Because I have so many bookmarks, and I don’t think I removed any, I found the second option faster, and turn to that more often.

  7. Rae says:

    Yes I do. I have my RSS reader for interesting articles.

  8. killerbee13 says:

    I actually disabled the bookmarks bar on my Firefox to streamline the interface, (Vertical space FTW!) and navigate exclusively by history and bookmark autocompletion. I mostly only bookmark main pages, and not specific pages.
    For saving things I’m not done with, (or will want to refer to soonish) I am not averse to leaving tabs open. Even before I installed ~5 extensions to make that easier on me, I had been regularly exceeding 100 tabs. Now, I have a wonderful Firefox extension named Tree Style Tab which means that I can just collapse an entire line of inquiry (which might be 20 tabs) into the space of one. For RAM management, I turned on the “Do not load tabs until I go to them” setting in Session Restore and just occasionally restart (or crash) my browser. This feature is also enhanced somewhat by TabMixPlus, I think. I currently have 137 tabs open. Four are never closed: Gmail, Feedly, (pinned) Tumblr, and YouTube (with trees). Probably 40 are blog posts. The rest are mostly technical. (At the moment: Python tutorials, web design stuff, other programming materials, configuration guides, software homepages, 32 tabs in one tree chronicling my (failed, unfortunately) quest for a unified way to remap my keyboard in Linux. (Seriously, though, I did it once before, it took like 5 minutes, and it was perfect, and now I can’t figure it out.))

    I don’t use the internet normally. You can say it. I know. Also, this comment got long. Maybe I should write a blog post on the subject.

Leave a Reply

