Linkspam: March 6th, 2015

Every Friday, we will share links to news, blogs, and anything else we find interesting.  We can’t catch everything, so you are invited to self-promote in the comments!

Applications for the Summer 2015 Ace Scholarship have opened.

Vice ran an article about the British asexual community.

demigray released All About Demisexuality.

The “f-ace-ing silence” zine is calling for submissions for its third issue.

The A-Spectrum Book Collective is looking for submissions from asexual, aromantic, and/or agender people.

Jezebel ran a less than stellar article about asexuality.

Sennkestra is reviewing/summarizing Asexualities: Feminist and Queer Perspectives.

Queereka ran an article about GLAAD’s “A is for Ally” fiasco, noting that “ally” is not a label you get to apply to yourself.

The Invisible Orientation is a finalist for the Lambda Literary Awards.

Swankivy wrote about asexuality not being a diagnosis.

Dragon created a model for sexual attraction and the ace spectrum.

About queenieofaces

QueenieOfAces is a graduate student in the U.S. studying Japanese religion. She is a queer asexual. She also blogs over at Concept Awesome and runs Resources for Ace Survivors. She is never quite sure what to write in these introduction things, but this one time she accidentally got a short story on asexuality published in an erotica magazine.
This entry was posted in Linkspam. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Linkspam: March 6th, 2015

  1. Jo says:

    That Jezebel article is kinda terrible. Does anyone know if anyone has responded to it yet?

    • Siggy says:

      The reception on AVEN is pretty mixed. My impression of the article was, “Wow, this totally doesn’t fit my preconceptions of human sexuality at all. Wait, I know, asexuality is inherently fluid and subversive! Now that I’ve fit it into my preconceptions, asexuality is awesome!”

    • luvtheheaven says:

      I’d love to know if more replies to that Jezebel thing come out.

    • Cody says:

      I responded to Tracy Moore and she asked if we could turn it into an interview. Asexual Agenda just added the interview to their most recent linkspam. I was just here checking out to see if the correction piece was making any traction to hopefully bury some of the errors from the first article. Though we all can take different stances on the details, I hope that overall I was able to help put out a better representation and that it helps repair some of the confusion the first article was causing. Seriously, some people were like, “Oh, I don’t date right now, I must be temporarily asexual!” I was like OMG NO I HAVE TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS OMG.

      • Jo says:

        Thanks for stepping up! It was really great to see the response piece, and to see someone actually own (well, mostly) what they screwed up. I sent a response piece to Jezebel myself, a revamped version of an article on how to be a proper ally to ace folks, but I should have sent it straight to Moore as well, so nothing came of it. Anyway, I’m glad you go onto her! There’s not enough visibility for us for there to be bad visibility.

        • Cody says:

          I actually just sent it to tips@jezebel and they passed it along. I guess I got lucky! Well good for you for speaking up too. I think a lot of times we write to people or try to send corrections and hope, but people frequently don’t listen. It was such a surprise to not only have someone do so, but then to ask to be publicly corrected in a way that turned out to be so productive too.

  2. timb4280 says:

    Here is another one. http://www.redandblack.com/variety/asexuality-in-athens-students-explore-grey-side-of-spectrum/article_9b41f16a-c2d7-11e4-aea5-8324d86f64e4.html This is my School newspaper at my university. The ace in the picture is me 🙂

  3. killerbee13 says:

    I… um… wrote a thing. https://yapbnweca.wordpress.com/2015/03/09/regular-posting-is-hard-work/ . It became quite a lot more than the title would indicate.
    Also, if you’re keeping track of my blog and I should stop posting these comments, I’d like to hear it so I can stop annoying you.

    • queenieofaces says:

      No, comment away! I really need to update my RSS feed to include a bunch of the new blogs, but I’m in the midst of midterm week right now, so I appreciate the reminder! (And I’ll drop the link in next week’s linkspam.)

Leave a Reply

