Question of the Week: March 3rd, 2015

The Carnival of Aces last month had the theme of “Cross Community Connections”.  Even if you don’t know how to make connections or what to say about the connection, which communities would you like to connect with?

I really wish I could make more connections with the gay male community, and in particular I mean gay social communities which are separate from the LGBTQ+ activist communities.  I don’t know what connection to make, except that I happen to interact with both gay male and ace communities.  But gay men are kind of weirdly regressive in ways that you wouldn’t really expect from a bunch of queers (although maybe you’d expect it from a bunch of white men).  It’s a fantasy of mine to introduce a bit more radicalism, erm, without having to work for it.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Question of the Week: March 3rd, 2015

  1. Ace in Translation says:

    the Dutch ace community 🙂 I’d love to have offline ace friends who actually live in the same country.

    Also, the Dutch bi community. I’ve tried to look up groups/activities for bi women, but those don’t really exist in my area, apparently. There’s only groups for lesbians, in which bi women are also welcome. I’m afraid that I, ace and bi, won’t even qualify as “bi/queer enough” in such a setting and I’m too insecure to contact them.

  2. LGBTQ Muslim communities. There seems to be one somewhat near where I live (though it would be difficult for me to get to their events) but the information I found on it made it sound like a secular-oriented support group for lesbian and gay people born into Muslim families. Being a religiously observant asexual convert, it didn’t seem like I fit in very well.

  3. unicornduke says:

    I’d say the LGBT Community in the area where I live. It’s pretty rural but I know there’s a PFLAG group nearby because it would be a community where I wouldn’t be surrounded by straight people.

    I’d also like to get involved in ace meetups but I’ve never driven into Baltimore or DC and not only is it a long drive, but going across the bridge involves a lot of traffic. I’ve only met one other ace person offline and we’re tumblr friends now since we both moved away from college so meeting other aces would be super nice.

    • luvtheheaven says:

      Where do you live? It sounds like you’re saying you’ve never been to an “Asexuals of the Mid Atlantic” meetup because DC and Baltimore locations are a long drive for you. If that is the group you’re referring to… feel free to email me privately at pemk7@aol.com to talk more about this stuff. That’s the group I’m in, and recently I was “promoted” to being a co-organizer of the group, so.

  4. Elizabeth says:

    I’d like to connect with local groups (queer groups, atheist groups, feminist groups, writing groups… whatever!), but there are some issues with that because 1) they mostly don’t exist or 2) they tend to be not as friendly as I’d like, or heavily connected to people with whom I’ve had a falling-out or otherwise want to avoid. So… complications!

    Other than that, I’d like to connect with more survivor groups. Which I’m working on.

  5. Sennkestra says:

    I actually have a lot of these right now, especially since college graduation has disrupted a lot of my friend networks as we all kind of scattered after we left campus. Some of the main ones:

    -atheist/skeptic communities – I’ve been getting into some atheist/skeptic blogs and podcasts lately, and I’m interested in someday connecting to more formal atheist communities – I think the main issue here is finding the right one for me, as some atheist groups just aren’t my style.

    -local kinky [queer] communities – I actually used to be a bit more connected to these, but having a chaotic schedule recently means I’ve sort of fallen out of contact. I also want more connections in the queer side of the kinky community, especially the queerest queer side where it’s not just gay men.

    -people in my neighborhood – right now pretty much all my friends live at lease 30 min away in various directions, so I really want to start making connections closer to home in my new neighborhood (I just moved this past fall)

Leave a Reply

