Question of the Week: January 6th, 2015

If you blog, vlog, tumbl, or tweet, what do you get out of it?

I’ve been blogging for over seven years, and for much of that time have had very few readers.  I don’t do it for the readers.  I just really like the space to talk about things that most people wouldn’t tolerate in normal conversation, because they’re too particular to my own interests.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Question of the Week: January 6th, 2015

  1. Silvermoon says:

    Most of my content on Tumblr is reblogged; however, even if it’s not original content I find it helps me. For starters, I first explored asexuality there, and in general I feel like even though it can be a harsh environment I’m a much less prejudiced person as a result.

    In terms of personal posts, I use it as a place to say things when I can’t talk about them IRL- whether it’s because I’m not open/out about that part of me to them, or because I only talk to one person about something and I haven’t seen them for months… It relieves a pressure that builds up in my head (and makes my tongue feel heavy for want of speech).
    When I occasionally document my cooking experiments, it’s a way of keeping a record for me, and I really enjoy the idea that someone might try something out after seeing my post.

    A large part of it is also community; there are very few people I talk to, but of those, I have built strong personal connections.

  2. Mxtrmeike13 says:

    I do it for two reasons. First and foremost I’m a writer, and I need a space to write where I feel like my words are reaching at least one person and (hopefully) doing some amount of good.

    Which leads me to my second reason, which is for the readers who read my blog regularly, watch my YouTube videos, etc. If people seem to get something out of what I’m posting, then I feel like it’s definitely worth posting.

  3. maralaurey says:

    I spend a lot of time on Tumblr, and although it’s often just a good way to waste time, it also seems to be a good way to be a part of the asexual community.
    With Tumblr you get the best of both worlds in that you can share and comment on other people’s things regularly (I know WordPress has a reblog feature but it doesn’t seem to be the ‘done thing’ so much), but also make your own posts when you want to, so you can keep the blog active without having to think about it too much when you’ve got a lot on your plate.

    I like to write down (or, very often, plan to write down word-for-word when I’m away from any writing utensils and then completely forget everything I was going to write) my thoughts so that they’re ordered in my head, and I like to think that every once in a while I get lucky enough to actually affect someone else with what I’m saying as well. With the tagging system on Tumblr it’s a lot easier to find followers who appreciate what you’re doing, and I find that a very good motivator to keep on writing my own content (as the blog I’m commenting with will attest to, I’m not always the best with motivation even when I love what I’m talking about!).

  4. cinderace says:

    I just started blogging recently, but it was something I’d liked the idea of for a while. As others have said, I have things that I feel like I don’t have anyone, or at least not many people, to talk to about in real life, so blogging gives me an outlet for those. I also just wanted a place to clarify and record my thoughts, because if they stay in my head they normally remain only half-formed and are easily forgotten. And having readers is always a plus–knowing that what I’ve said resonates with someone else, or having someone pose a question I haven’t thought of is always encouraging and beneficial.

  5. I’ve blogged in one form or another since 2002 and been on Twitter since 2007. Twitter had largely taken over from blogging until I started my asexual blog on Tumblr. For me, it’s an important way of finding communities of people who share my interests and identities (my previous blogging had primarily been on Muslim and political topics) since I do not have a lot of local, work-related, or family contacts who share these with me.

  6. abonnace says:

    I think my reasons are very similar to those who have already commented. I blog about things I have trouble physically talking about to other people. It gets the thoughts out of my head where they can circle and circle with no where to be expressed. Also I don’t have many people in real life who I feel may understand or are knowledgeable in the topics I choose to explore on my blog. It’s nice to put them out there where someone else can read them, and available to people who may be interested or knowledgeable in the same areas.

  7. Pingback: So you want to start your own blog | The Asexual Agenda

  8. Pingback: Why I blog | cinderace blogs

  9. tschellufjek says:

    I’ve started running a blog almost a year ago because I wanted to share my interests with all kinds of people and because I wanted to reinforce the online presence of the German ace community. After a few months only I could draw a very positive balance. I’m not overrun by visitors but I have found some nice people who share my interests and I got in touch with the other German ace bloggers with whom I’m now trying to establish a common blog about asexuality. Also I’m very happy to have a platform where I can write down my thoughts and express my enthusiasm about some issues. In reality, you can’t speak with everybody about everything and sometimes it happens that you could lose your mind from joy (if that’s a correct English expression 🙂 ) but you can’t find anybody with whom you could share it. So, all in all, I would say that I got a lot more out of it than I put into 🙂

  10. Pingback: Belated 1 year anniversary! | Cake at the Fortress

Leave a Reply

