Open Thread: December 9th, 2014

Let’s try something different here.  We used to host open threads, but replaced them with more Questions of the Week, which seemed to be much more effective at starting discussion.  However, it’s been a long time since we tried, so let’s give it another try.

You may talk about anything, asexuality-related or not.  You may also just delurk to say hi!

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Open Thread. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Open Thread: December 9th, 2014

  1. Hollis says:

    Here’s to hoping anyone whose dealing with finals is having a better time than me!

  2. Victrix says:

    I’ll chime in to say I’m still lurking around. Just haven’t been in an environment where I feel comfortable blogging.
    Though i am planning in the next few weeks to write a piece on how to run a meetup so have some general questions I’m curious about for those that have meetup groups.
    How often do you meet?
    What do you tend to do/plan?
    How many people do you tend to have attend?
    How often do you attract new people?
    How does cost/transport impact the group?

    • Siggy says:

      i go to SF Bay Area meetups. They have regular monthly meetups where people just go to a cafe and talk for several hours. There are around 10 people, and I meet at least a few new people every time. It definitely helps to have public transit so that many people can reach the meetups easily. Although I should say I stopped going to meetups in the south bay because I’d have to sit on trains for a couple hours each way.

      I’ve talked to some people who would like to see more variety in meetups. Unfortunately doing other kinds of meetups takes initiative. And casual cafe meetups are sort of like pop music–people don’t really love them, but they’re acceptable to most.

      • Victrix says:

        Our numbers seem around the same number. We’ve had a few people who have stopped attending regularly due to the travel time. I’ve found it’s not hard to get the variety in if you can come up with ideas though we usually have some where to go and chat afterwards too.

    • Sciatrix says:

      My group meets weekly, although this seems to be relatively frequent for an ace group. I think they generally are more likely to meet monthly.
      There is very little planning involved; mostly we show up at the usual coffeeshop, wait for everyone to arrive, and chat for a few hours. Occasionally, someone will feel like doing something as a group and schedule an additional meetup surrounding that. We’ve had a poi dancing lesson, semiregular movie nights, the obligatory (A)sexual screening, and currently there’s a “learn fibercrafts!” weekend scheduled. I keep meaning to do a board games day at the local board games cafe. Stuff like that.
      Generally, the size of the group on a given week ranges from 4-6 people, although I think our record is 10. It varies depending on who’s in town.
      I get someone new joining the meetup site about once a week, I would say? Although I’ve had two people in the last two days, and I’ve gone months when I only got one new person. I think someone new actually shows up to a meetup once every two months or so, and then they may or may not keep attending. We have regulars, and then we have people who just drop in when they’re free, and then we have a fraction of new people who show up once and never again. It happens.
      I tried to deliberately locate the meetup near public transit from the local university in particular and also in a fairly central part of town; that said, I know there are quite a few people who have to drive in from some distance away. The coffee shop I chose is, however, on several transit lines, so if you’re stuck using my city’s crappy public transit it should be fairly accessible. It also has good parking, which is what most people wind up using. Generally speaking, people who have a long way to drive to get here are the most likely to come infrequently, and people who live nearby are more likely to come more frequently.

  3. Victrix says:

    Awesome to see that another group that does those extra things on the side when people decide they want to do something. Yeah monthly seems to be more common, especially from an organising perspective its easier if you don’t do the same thing.
    We’re lucky on the public transport (despite how much people complain about it) so gives us a reasonable, if still restricted, choice of places.

  4. killerbee13 says:

    I guess I can’t think of anywhere else to ask that’ll get the audience this might, and perhaps other people would be interested to know: Can anyone name any reasonably-productive blogs run by demis? I recently changed labels to demi (from asexual), and I realized that I’m not following a single demi’s blog.

Leave a Reply

