Question of the Week: November 4th, 2014

In honor of National Novel Writing Month:

If you were going to write a novel with an asexual protagonist, what would it be about?

(If you are writing one, please feel free to tell us! I know Siggy is currently working on one, but I am not sure I’m aware of anyone else working on a project.)

 

About Sciatrix

Sciatrix is an American graduate student studying ecology, evolution and behavior. She identifies as asexual and has mostly given up trying to sort out the whole romance thing for now. She has previously blogged about asexuality at Writing From Factor X. In her free time, she trains in canine agility and knits oddly cabled hats.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Question of the Week: November 4th, 2014

  1. abonnace says:

    I’m just planing one now, it’s going to be a sci-fi adventure type story. My protagonist will be aro ace, and while it won’t be the main focus of the novel, it will be explored in how they interact and form relationships with other people. That’s the plan anyway 😛

  2. I am writing one, not for NaNoWriMo, but for my own purpose. But it’s unlikely that anyone here will appreciate the idea, because I mean it as Catholic apologetics.

  3. Siggy says:

    I think people are getting more excited about my novel than is warranted. It’s actually progressed backwards over the past several months. It may never be completed.

    My novel has transformed to be even more unabashedly about amatonormativity. It’s basically about an unreliable narrator imposing a ill-fitted romantic narrative on the protagonist.

  4. tessalsantos says:

    I’m working on something for NaNo with an homoromantic asexual MC and an aro ace side character at the moment. However, even though their sexuality will be mentioned and explored, I’m planning on focusing more on dysfunctional familial relationships.

  5. Carmilla DeWinter says:

    I’ve got a friendship/queerplatonic relationship story between a heteroroamantic ace and a genderqueer ace/aro person in the works. In German. Needs some style finetuning, then betareading. Planning to self-publish in 2015. It’s fantasy, as usual.

  6. Caren says:

    A sentient robot girl MC who fights for autonomy over people trying to control her and create non-sentient robots for nefarious purposes. Basically, since she’s the only sentient robot that can pass for “normal” and function in society without relieving she’s a robot I thought making her allosexual might say some odd things about how sexuality connects with ‘humanity’. The robot girl definitely worries about this but her friends help her out. There’s another robot who doesn’t fit in (because of their inability to prioritize things) that’s agender and whose sexuality is never stated. Sort of a robot coming of age story?

  7. I sort of did once, without realizing it. Actually, now that I think about it, more than once… Usually I wrote it that way as a rebellion against the demand that “There must be a sex scene!” Everyone else was married or dating or hooking up, but the main character was always just focused on saving the world from the menace of the secret French submarine fleet or escaping the desert planet of the underground cities.

    In one case, though, I wrote a mostly-autobiographical, highly reluctant love story. I didn’t realize it at the time, but the main character (me) was an aromantic-ish asexual. I really oughta dust that off and let it loose again someday.

  8. maralaurey says:

    I’ve got one about a homoromantic fairy sat in a notebook somewhere waiting for me to get round to writing it, although at the rate I’m writing my current novel it’ll be a decade before I even get round to looking at it again.

  9. Cath says:

    Actually, my protagonist was gray-A before I even knew I was ace… the story’s about recovering from the emotional trauma of his brother’s death.

  10. I’m neither writing a novel nor planning to, but I do engage in a form of journaling where I use a group of fictional characters to work through ideas and issues (there’s no plot or anything, just a sort of ongoing series of adventures). The main character is homoromantic gray-A and has recently determined that he is demiromantic. I’ve also developed several ace minor characters.

  11. queenieofaces says:

    I wrote quite a lot of fiction for a couple of years, but I, surprisingly, didn’t really have that many ace characters. (There were a few minor, side characters who in hindsight I went “Oh, wow, yeah, they’re ace,” but none of my main characters were ace.) I did write an entire novel about an aro bi vampire girl, though. (In hindsight I look at it and I’m like, “…yeah, this novel was pretty clearly about A. dealing with trauma and B. dealing with sexuality” but that wasn’t really how I was conceptualizing it when I started writing it.)

  12. emhjorth says:

    I’m working on a story in which the main character is an aro ace – her identity isn’t really a major point, but the novel(s) deal with the theme of identity in general, so it’ll probably come up in some way. Like Cath, I decided she was asexual even before I knew I was myself.

  13. Hannah says:

    Mine started as a novel, but is now being developed into a webcomic, and five of the 6 main characters are queer – the main protag is Aro-Ace, her best friend is demi, her ex-gf is lesbian, another friend is an asexual transwoman, and one of the two guys is pansexual and genderqueer, the only cis-het of the six, is the final guy.

    The setting is sci-fi on a space-faring alien world and revolves around these 6 characters trying to prevent first international war and then the power-hungry orchestrator of the war hell-bent on both global domination and then galaxy-wide domination.

    Obviously the plot revolves around the wars and global and galaxy domination, but their sexualities and genders will not go unnoticed, especially as the cis-het guy is in love with the aro-ace main protag who wants pretty much nothing to do with any of that stuff.

    I’m still in the transitioning from novel-to-script stage 🙂

  14. foxnamed says:

    Last year for Nano I started in on a pseudo-scifi magical realism story about Talia, a young girl who tries desperately to be normal in a world that feels like it’s just beyond a glass wall. I don’t know if she’s actually (grey)romantic or asexual, but the story does focus on important issues I’ve learned about from the asexual community.

    It’s turning into more of a slice-of-life story in a weird setting. Talia experiences what seems to be a crush on a boy based on what she’s read in books, but she just can’t seem to give the feelings and actions that her boy-thing wants. She feels intense shame because of this, and often tries to “fix herself” by engaging in textbook relationships that make her extremely uncomfortable. She blames it on an assaulter still present in her life and doesn’t know how to acknowledge that an aro ace way of prioritizing her feelings is a valid way to live. On top of that, she doesn’t understand why her friends are prioritizing other relationships over what she thought was a very close, meaningful friendship with her, so she repeatedly loses the support she needs.

    All these feelings of brokenness are exacerbated by the fact that many people in her community can mindwalk or communicate psychically, and she can’t, even though, given her parentage, she’s supposed to be extremely talented at it.

    Like Hannah’s, this mess is actually turning into a thing I think would be more interesting to explore in comic form, but I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to flesh it out fully.

  15. deadkorea says:

    The first thing I thought about when I read this was One Piece, so something inspired by that whatever it eventually ends up being. Lesbians, a pansexual sidekick, coffee shops and a alternate universe (“universe-walkers, technically, but I prefer “Travellers”, and so does the official lingo guidebook!” and the pamphlet she drops on your lap makes your eyes spin, literally)

  16. Sara K. says:

    If I were to write a novel, it would probably be more about being aromantic than about being asexual, since I find it easier to come up with dramatic scenarios for the former.

  17. Talia says:

    I’m participating in National Novel Writing Month, even though I’ve been highly advised not to (oops!). Hopefully I will find the time somewhere. My novel has four main characters and one of them is explicitly asexual and identifies as such. One of the other characters has an ambiguous sexual orientation that I think could fall under asexuality, but they don’t think about it that way because their self-identification prioritizes their interest in bdsm.

    The novel is about what happens to the group when they decide to live recognizing that they are in an assemblage with each other and the rest of the world. Assemblage is a theoretical concept, but they try to figure out what it could practically mean. The novel focuses a lot on story telling and the lived messiness of intimate and overlapping relationships. Three of the characters are in a romantic and sexual relationship with each other while the fourth is friends with all of them (but best friends with one of the three). It’s so messy I can’t even adequately explain it here. I’m very excited. 🙂

Leave a Reply

