Question of the Week: October 28th, 2014

What do you do to relieve stress?

The last week has been stressful for me, for work-related reasons.  I don’t really know how to do stress relief, to be honest.  I guess I talk to friends, and just feel dissatisfied about everything.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Question of the Week: October 28th, 2014

  1. foxface says:

    I art really hardcore and watch cartoons, or run really fast with loud music, or play video games, forcing all of my attention away from the things that are worrying me for some amount of time. Preferably things that I’m good at, so I can feel a sense of accomplishment that lingers after the task is done. But even that short period of distraction is enough to relieve me of some of the stress chemical.

  2. queenieofaces says:

    I destroy my roommate at Ascension. (That was a lie; I destroy him about 50% of the time.) But actually, deck-building card games are surprisingly good stress-relievers. (I used to play a lot of Dominion, but then isotropic went down and I didn’t have a physical copy of the games, so I think I’ve gotten rusty.) My other major form of stress relief is blogging, actually, but when I get too busy, trying to blog on top of all my other work winds up just adding to my stress, so maybe that’s not the best plan.

    • Siggy says:

      I want you to know that your mention of Dominion and Ascension brings joy to my heart.

      • queenieofaces says:

        You know that this means that if we are ever in the same place with a copy of either game we are going to have to play, yes?

        • Cleander says:

          Can we like, make an “Aces who like deck-building games” club? I can supply Dominion and Tanto Cuore (which is a Japanese deck-building game about maids. It’s as weird as it sounds but I promise the gameplay is great).

  3. notunprepared says:

    I kill people in Mass Effect (it makes me feel like I’m amazing at something), and read fanfic while listening to loud music.

    I used to go running, and that worked well, but I don’t have the energy anymore.

  4. Grace says:

    I either blast music which I then dance dorkily to (alone in a locked room), use peppermint oil and a shower, or do my level best to make my friends procrastinate via online quizzes and web comics.

  5. Silvermoon says:

    I often cook to de-stress (and also procrastinate but oh weeeeelllll….) if it’s a big dish, It’ll put me in a different zone for hours.

  6. Dawg4280 says:

    I don’t mean to be an A-hole, but what a disappointing question during Asexual Awareness Week.

    • Siggy says:

      Well, this blog is explicitly not aimed at raising awareness, but rather promoting discussion among people who are already aware. AAW is pretty far from my mind, personally, because I basically stopped doing general vis-ed activism, and I am also traveling abroad this week. I don’t know if any of my cobloggers were planning to write anything related to it, but they have no obligation to.

  7. Sara K. says:

    I suppose my stress reliever of choice is to get out and walk around. When I am not merely stressed, but actually upset, it helps to indulge in childhood nostalgia (for example, watching a cartoon I really liked as a kid).

  8. Libris says:

    I try to find something that absorbs all of my mind, leaving none left for stress; currently it’s Dragon Age. Videogames are usually great for this; films less so, but they can work.

Leave a Reply

