Question of the week: September 2nd, 2014

Is there anything you ever got into (hobbies, TV shows, music, etc.) because it was recommended by someone in the ace community?

I was already into webcomics before, but I didn’t read Supernormal Step until people recommended as a good comic with an asexual character.  I like the webcomic a lot, and think it is good independent of any asexual references.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Question of the week: September 2nd, 2014

  1. Seth says:

    Maaaaaaybe. Webcomics are a good example, but I read so many that I’m usually the one giving the recommendations (I had already headcanon’d Fiona as ace well before she came out and Supernormal Step became A Big Deal in the ace community overnight). It is possible that got into Tab Kimpton’s comics because of a link from the ace community, but I don’t remember for sure. I know I was previously aware of the existence of Khaos Komix, but didn’t actually read it until after I started following Shades of A.

  2. queenieofaces says:

    Several webcomics! Most notably Ignition Zero and Shades of A.

    Actually, some of my research interests were sparked by hanging out in ace communities and going, “Wait, there’s a lot of complex discussion of gender here, but in my field we’re still stuck in ‘gender means women’ mode; I SHOULD FIX THAT.”

  3. Carmilla DeWinter says:

    I don’t think I would’ve peeked at BBC Sherlock if not for the discussion hereabouts that predated the German release by months. I woulnd’t call myself a fangirl yet, but I love that series.

  4. GreyWanders says:

    I only read Girls with Slingshots (webcomic) and Quicksilver (book by R. J. Anderson) because they featured aces. Both are quite enjoyable.

  5. Isaac says:

    I started following BBC Sherlock and a webcomic because an asexual friend talk of them a lot, and I wouldn’t otherwise.

Leave a Reply

