Question of the Week: August 5th, 2014

What people inspire you?  (No fair naming any of us, we would die from flattery.)

I’m inspired by a number of bloggers, most of whom are very obscure and are too embarrassing to name.  To name some less obscure ones, I’m inspired by Sean Carroll, a cosmologist, and Greta Christina, a writer about sex, atheism, and feminism.  There are also some asexual bloggers, but I suppose to be fair I shouldn’t name them.

In writing fiction, I’m most inspired by Margaret Atwood and Kazuo Ishiguro.

Another embarrassing person to name is my boyfriend.  I’m inspired by the way he sings to himself in the bathroom, I think that’s really deep.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Question of the Week: August 5th, 2014

  1. luvtheheaven says:

    I don’t usually feel overly inspired by other people. I always feel weird about the question whenever it comes up. Inspires me to do what? Live my life better? Try to do what they do?

    I guess the main people that inspire me in my life are generally fanfiction writers and especially fanvideo editors. These people I come across in the fandom world making amazing works of art generally help inspire me to make my own. The ones where I will be proud of what I create if I can make my own even half as good as theirs. 😉 There are too many talented fandom people to name, people where I come across their work and think “WOW THIS IS SO IMPRESSIVE… maybe I should see how good I can be in comparison”.

  2. queenieofaces says:

    EMBARRASSING STORY TIME: As a young child (8 or 9), Cyrano de Bergerac was my #1 inspiration; never mind that he was fictional, never mind that he died, never mind that he never gets the girl, I thought he was the epitome of all you could aspire to be. This probably explains a lot about me as a young child.

    Ummm, inspirations now: a lot of ace bloggers! My advisor, definitely, because she is GREAT and I can only aspire to be fractionally as rad as her someday. A lot of my senpai. Kitamura Sayo (Am I joking or serious? I WILL NEVER SAY).

  3. Aqua says:

    I got inspired to start my own asexuality-related blog primarily because of various asexual blogs, and the discussions on them. I found a lot of the topics discussed here, and in various asexual blogs very interesting. I regret missing out on so much of it, because I used to believe that my time on AVEN was a replacement for my time that used to be spent reading the blogs.

  4. Carmilla DeWinter says:

    Inspiration not so much as “one day I want to be better than these people” (at storytelling): Neil Gaiman, NK Jemisin, Naomi Novik, Ursula K LeGuin, Terry Pratchett, and a couple more.
    Otherwise inspiring – or motivating me to go on, because feedback is everything – are all you other ace bloggers out there.
    I seem to be equal parts Hufflepuff and Slytherin – community plus a dose of ambition. *headscratch*

  5. Miriam Joy says:

    As a kid one of my biggest inspirations was the author Kate Thompson who, when I emailed her about my love of her book ‘The New Policeman’, took the time to reply and enter into some sort of correspondence with me. I aspire always to have that attitude to strangers who contact me about something I’ve created — and to touch people enough with my work that they bother to.

    More recently the author Maggie Stiefvater, with her insane musical and artistic skills as well as her writing, provides another inspiration. Also, she has goats, and that’s, like, a major life goal for me. I love goats.

    But I often get inspired by fictional characters, which is why it’s so important to me that there are fictional characters who are actually like me. You know, I get super attached to someone and their independence and everything and then suddenly they go off and fall in love and start a family and I’m like, “Dude, really?” Maybe that’s why I like the ones who die tragically young. They don’t have time for that kind of thing. Case in point: Enjolras.

  6. Hollis says:

    Lately I’ve been pretty inspired by Nouria Newman. She’s a pro whitewater kayaker who is doing some incredibly bomb boating and some first descents and I already have so many feelings about lady boaters (because yeesh is whitewater culture sexist. Though I was pleasantly surprised at the festival I was at last weekend by the both the lack of overt sexism and the numbers of lady boaters).

    As a kid, I was super inspired by pretty much all of Tamora Pierce’s leading ladies (but especially Kel and Alanna) and Tammy’s characters are still pretty important to me today.

Leave a Reply

