Question of the Week: July 22nd, 2014

Today is our bloggiversary!  A two-year retrospective will soon follow.

What’s the biggest change you’ve had in the last year?

In the last year, I moved in with my boyfriend.  Now we have floor to ceiling windows, and even more opportunity to play Dominion and Super Mario 3D World.

Just don’t ask how my PhD is going.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Question of the Week: July 22nd, 2014

  1. Well, I came out to more or less everyone, I learnt to cook properly (about time), I improved my drawing, I graduated from basic Japanese and I finished batxillerat (I don’t know the equivalent in English. High school maybe? Or college?). I also did my A-levels and will be starting at the University I wanted to this September. And I’m about to finish a course that will get me my first job. I can say it’s been a busy year.

    And congratulations for the two years by the way!

  2. luvtheheaven says:

    Um… in August 2013 the third time was the charm for me with online dating and I acquired my first ever boyfriend. 😉 By October 2013 I had officially determined that I was asexual and broke up with my boyfriend over it. I think the discovery of my asexuality might be tied with my exciting experience of having a first ever boyfriend. Both were huge changes for me and my life. I also had my first experience with real grief, though, in November/December 2013… and to some degree it still affects me pretty strongly now, and probably always will. That was a change in my life, losing this family member of mine. So I don’t know. The end of 2013 was a cluster of kinda huge things for me and my 23-years-old-at-the-time life. 2014 has been quite boring for me, in comparison.

  3. I graduated from law school, and am about to take the bar in a week!(!!) So, hopefully by the end of the year I can say I became a lawyer.

  4. Hollis says:

    There’s been a lot of small-scale changes in the past year and a lot of personal growth, but no hugely large developments so outwardly things look pretty similar to last year (even if mentally things are a ton different). I entered my first romantic relationship about a year ago, then it ended three months later. I moved three times. I changed my major and finally declared my second major. I dealt with one of my worst depressive episodes in years and actually saw a professional about that (which is something I’m proud of even if it ultimately didn’t help much). I started working for a new company and I’m having a great time (though I miss a lot of my coworkers/friends from the old company). I came out to my dad as trans and that went better-than-expected. In under two weeks, I’m going to be camping out/homeless for threeish weeks and I’m equal parts nervous and excited about it (mostly nervous about bears and getting lyme disease). I’ve been a lot more open and honest about gender and sexuality too. And the thing I’m potentially most excited by is finding some really amazing friends in my hobby and improving SO MUCH. If you had talked to me last year and said that I’d be doing the stuff I’m doing now, I would not have believed you (though I did crack a rib in a mishap a few weeks ago, so I’ve still got quite a ways to go for improvement).

    The coming year should be big on big changes, though (graduation, major move to a different state for the first time in my life probably(!), hopefully doing some transition stuff).

  5. Sciatrix says:

    Lot of big scary exhausting events this year: about a year ago now, my apartment burned down while I was out of the country. I lost my car last December. I told my (non… supportive) parents I was engaged to my partner, who they hadn’t previously known about because Reasons and then got married, and then introduced said partner and am currently handling the fallout from that.

    I would like next year to be extremely boring, please.

  6. Victrix says:

    Past year had a lot happen which is the biggest I couldn’t say as they all kind of work off each other. Moved back into my parents, got work experience which has led to a casual job in the industry till I can find something more permanent. Just put my graduation application in a couple of days ago for uni. Started yet another version of the rulebook for the game I’m designing with some friends. So expecting the next year to be full of quite a few changes too.

  7. I started volunteering with a Muslim social justice organization that is just getting off the ground, which has helped me a lot in finding community. I started writing publicly about the intersections of asexuality and Islam. So it looks like the theme of the last six months or so is carving out a place for myself instead of feeling like I’m caught between worlds. Not a bad thing at all.

  8. Carmilla DeWinter says:

    Well, congrats on the two years, and kudos to all contributors.
    My own year has been pretty exciting so far – that is, the 2013 bits were nice, but not overly spectacular.
    On the second day of 2014 I sold a novel, which is out now. I also finished another novel’s first draft, joined the Federal Office for Magical Creatures, and participated in my new dancing school’s yearly show.
    AVEN Germany did the first actual pride marching ever, in Berlin.
    There’s also a documentary on asexuality in the works, for which I was interviewed.
    So, yes, busy, and more planned. But well. Right now, I feel pretty good about things, though I’ll have to see whether this feeling continues or if I bit off more than I can chew. (Or, more likely, whether I need to be more relaxed and accept that not even Milady is perfect …)

  9. queenieofaces says:

    I also had a pretty eventful year. On the academic side, I wrote a thesis, presented at my first academic conference, graduated from my master’s program, and got accepted to a PhD program. On the personal side, I finally came out to my parents, started dating my lovely girlfriend, attended my first Pride, helped organize AAW in Boston, and somehow became mildly internet famous, I guess? (At least, my classmates have decided that I’m internet famous. I don’t know where the bar is.) I guess my two big changes can be characterized as “got louder about being ace and queer, got more intense about academics.”

  10. salmelo says:

    In the last year I’ve gained and lost many good friends as well as, I hope, a better understanding of how to keep good friends and be one myself. I’ve also graduated with my bachelors, entered the workforce, and moved out of my mothers into an apartment all my own. Which is starting to get pretty lonely actually, as nice as it can be at times.

Leave a Reply

