Question of the Week: April 29th

Have you ever written anything, or thought about writing something, just for fun?

Aside from blogging, I fantasize about writing a novel.  I just can’t figure out what would happen in the novel!  There are these characters, but I’m not sure what they are going to do.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Question of the Week: April 29th

  1. luvtheheaven says:

    For me, that’s what fanfiction is. Writing stuff “just for fun”. To some degree, all of my blogging is too. Although oftentimes the blogging is less “fun” and more… serious to some degree, out of a desperate-ish feeling of need to explain myself or something.

    When I was in elementary school I wrote a short (original) story but I don’t think it was exclusively “for fun”, although I do not honestly remember how it got started. All I know is that by the end of it, I was certainly meeting with a teacher and being pulled out of “Spelling class” to do it, and I think I probably wouldn’t have written it if it hadn’t been something I was basically told to do.

    As I got older, I did write some poetry “just for fun” and took creative writing classes (one my junior year of high school, one my senior year of college) as electives, so in a sense all of the writing I did for those classes including my original poems, short stories, and plays were written “For fun” because I didn’t have to be taking the class at all and I did mainly enjoy myself. 😉

    That is the full extent of my writing. I think I will be happy to stick to only blogging and fanfiction and never writing anything like an original short story/original novel in the future, but I do love to write, so maybe one day I’ll change my mind.

  2. Carmilla DeWinter says:

    Meh. I’m a published author as of two weeks ago. Plus the fanfic. So. Writing is a load of fun to me, while at the same time being deadly serious. I’ writing mostly fantasy, because I very much enjoy worldbuilding, and I don’t plan everything through, so I sometimes get to discover stuff while writing. Which is the fun part.
    The serious parts are: I usually have some questions that I ponder by writing (about trust, or religion, or freedom, or whatever), and sometimes the characters have flaws that are very similar to my own. Things can get painful along the way. Also, if you want to be published, writing becomes work, and needs some discipline.

  3. Jo says:

    Congrats, Carmilla!

    I have many things I’d like to write one day. At the moment I’m writing a short work of historical fiction, about Dido of Carthage, for inclusion in an anthology. I submitted a pitch last year and the editors liked it, so I’m shortlisted, so to speak. In the future some day, I’d like to have a go at writing a young adult romance/coming of age story, about two best friends in their gap year after high school. One is slowly realising that she’s queer and attracted to her best friend, but the other girl is realising that she’s asexual and aromantic. And they somehow manage to come to terms with this and form a sort of queerplatonic relationship that defies all categorisation. 😀

    And then on the academic side of things, I want to write a book focusing on the roles and perceptions of the Roman empress, from a thematic, conceptual p.o.v. But you know, I might go get that PhD first and all, so it’ll be a good ten years at least.

    • Carmilla DeWinter says:

      Thanks. If you ever need a beta, you know where to find me 😉 Not for the Roman empresses, though, because I’ve done very little reading on ancient Rome, but I do know how to critique fiction.

  4. ace-muslim says:

    I have what I sometimes jokingly refer to as my “never-ending story”. It’s a group of characters that I write about from time to time, mostly to help myself work through ideas or issues. But it’s never come together into anything actually resembling a plot so it’s more like “journaling using a fiction exercise” or something.

  5. queenieofaces says:

    I actually wrote a lot of fiction in my teens (including two completed novels). In hindsight, it was mostly a coping mechanism–a lot of my stories dealt with issues I was trying to figure out at the time. (It’s funny to look back and go, “…yep, this was me trying to figure exactly what flavor of queer I was; oh dear, tiny Queenie, you are so transparent.”) Since starting grad school I’ve switched to blogging entirely, which is kind of weird, since I’m writing so much non-fiction for grad school, I wouldn’t want to write more non-fiction in my spare time. But I’m much better at writing non-fiction than fiction (and I enjoy it), so…win-win, I guess?

  6. Siggy says:

    I’m so fascinated by the wide range of motivations people have!

    In my case, I blog because it gives my intellectual life a focus. Figuring stuff out and developing opinions seems to have more of a purpose when I share it. As for writing fiction (I’ve only taken minor stabs so far), it’s just for fun.

  7. notunprepared says:

    I started writing a sort of self-insert realistic sci fi novel last year. But I realised I couldn’t write dialog to save my life, so I stopped. I still have the main plot in my head. A novel is very ambitious for a first time writer like myself. (I’m excellent at writing essays, but fiction is very different). I might try my hand at fanfic one day though.

Leave a Reply

