Question of the Week: April 15th, 2014

What’s your favorite children’s book of all time?

About Aydan

Aydan is an aromantic asexual biology grad student in the US. She blogs at Confessions of an Ist about asexuality, Christianity, environmentalism, and feminism.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Question of the Week: April 15th, 2014

  1. luvtheheaven says:

    This is very difficult, as I loved so many books as a child…

    Does a “Young Adult” book, like for 11-year-olds, count? Because I adored “The House of the Scorpion” by Nancy Farmer. It dealt with intense moral issues surrounding cloning. Lol. http://www.amazon.com/The-House-Scorpion-Nancy-Farmer/dp/0689852231

    For people a little younger, “Mick Harte Was Here” is a wonderful, heartbreaking and very memorable introduction to… grief that third graders (8-year-olds) can fully appreciate.
    http://www.amazon.com/Mick-Harte-Here-Barbara-Park/dp/0679882030

    And for very little kids… I think my favorite when I was young was always “The Velveteen Rabbit” by Margery Williams:
    http://www.amazon.com/Velveteen-Rabbit-Margery-Williams/dp/0762429356

    It’s been a long time since I’ve read any of them, but I’d highly recommend them to anyone.

  2. Mxtrmeike13 says:

    “Digby and Kate” by Barbara Baker. I always liked how two people (or a male dog and female cat, in this case) could be best friends without eventually falling in love. Guess even as a wee little lad I was a rampant asexual….

  3. Carmilla DeWinter says:

    Hmm. I think my preferences pre-teen were equally split between the “Jim Knopf” novels and “Der satanarchäolügenialkohöllische Wunschpunsch” (“Night of Wishes”), both by Michael Ende. They’re both rather fantasy-themed, highly inventive, and have unlikely friendships as their focal points.
    I’ve stuck with the fantasy preference over the years.

  4. I was about to comment when I realised that pretty much *all* of my favourite books are children’s books. The Hobbit. The Amazing Maurice, by Terry Pratchett (and a special mention to the Tiffany Aching series). The Mortal Engines/Hungry Cities series by Phillip Reeve.

  5. queenieofaces says:

    I’m in the same boat as slightlymetaphysical. The Bartimaeus Trilogy is probably my favorite set of books and it’s technically marketed to children (although it’s probably better categorized as YA). I would actually be hard pressed to find a favorite non-children/YA book.

  6. Hollis says:

    Yeah, all of my favorite books are YA books. Everything written by Tamora Pierce is fantastic, though my favorite is the Protector of the Small quartet.

Leave a Reply

