Question of the Week: March 11, 2014

I’m visiting Boston this week. While I’m here, I’ve made plans to visit the monthly Boston aces social because hey, what the hell!

What’s the farthest you’ve traveled to go to an ace meetup?

About Sciatrix

Sciatrix is an American graduate student studying ecology, evolution and behavior. She identifies as asexual and has mostly given up trying to sort out the whole romance thing for now. She has previously blogged about asexuality at Writing From Factor X. In her free time, she trains in canine agility and knits oddly cabled hats.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Question of the Week: March 11, 2014

  1. queenieofaces says:

    Only downtown, ’cause I’m not terribly exciting. (Unless, say, you count the ace caucus at Queer Conference as an ace meetup, in which case…3 hours by car?) I’m thinking about going to the Unconference in NYC in April, though. Also, I’ll be in the Bay Area for part of the summer, and am thinking of trying to get in touch with the meet-up there. So…planning on going further afield, but haven’t actually done so yet.

  2. Brin says:

    What’s the farthest you’ve traveled to go to an ace meetup?

    I haven’t even been able to get to the one ~20km away. Car-focused transportation culture is so stifling, particularly in winter. (I’ve been learning to drive out of necessity, but I don’t feel ready to drive in snow and I’m legally not ready to drive without a fully-licensed passenger.)

  3. Carmilla DeWinter says:

    Looks like I’m the odd one out: I wouldn’t have travelled to London in 2012 if there hadn’t been the Pride and the conference. So, Southern Germany to England, that’d be 700+ kilometers. Usually, though, the meetups I attend are much closer, in the nearest bigger city (35 kilometers, with decent train connection).

  4. Cleander says:

    I live in California, and furthest I’ve been for an ace event was all the way to London for Worldpride, (though I managed to combine it with a month long tour of the UK, so it wasn’t *just* for the ace meetup, though it was a primary motivating factor).

  5. I also travelled to London for Worldpride. From… about 2 hours train journey north. But still.

Leave a Reply

