Question of the Week: February 25, 2014

Have you seen forward motion of asexuality acceptance over time in your life?

I certainly have. When I first started identifying as asexual in 2006, I could find nothing about asexuality off the internet. Now, although it’s still not frequent for me to encounter people who know what asexuality is before I tell them, it does happen on a semicommon basis. It’s also much more common for me to find people who are actively interested in learning about asexuality, even if they don’t quite know where to start.

About Sciatrix

Sciatrix is an American graduate student studying ecology, evolution and behavior. She identifies as asexual and has mostly given up trying to sort out the whole romance thing for now. She has previously blogged about asexuality at Writing From Factor X. In her free time, she trains in canine agility and knits oddly cabled hats.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Question of the Week: February 25, 2014

  1. Siggy says:

    Yeah, my vague impression is that things have gotten better since 2009. I think part of this impression comes from the fact that I know a lot more aces than I knew in 2009. I didn’t know any back then.

    Another thing I’ve seen is the growth of gray/demi. Previously, I had the impression that people only ever came to those identities by first identifying as asexual, and then switching to gray/demi. Now I see plenty of people say that they went directly to gray/demi.

  2. queenieofaces says:

    I first found out about asexuality in…early 2008, I think? Things have definitely gotten a lot better since then. Now I run into people who actually know what the word means! And who know other aces!

Leave a Reply

