Question of the Week: February 18th, 2014

Happy belated Read In The Bathtub Day! What’s your favorite obscure, bizarre, or probably-completely-made up holiday?

About Aydan

Aydan is an aromantic asexual biology grad student in the US. She blogs at Confessions of an Ist about asexuality, Christianity, environmentalism, and feminism.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Question of the Week: February 18th, 2014

  1. Sciatrix says:

    Talk Like a Pirate Day! It happens to be my birthday, so every year it’s like the Internet inexplicably becomes pirate-themed just for meeeee. Plus I have an enormous soft spot for Pastafarianism. It’s silly, ridiculous, and it was invented as a snarky response for creationists trying to legislate against evolution education–what’s not to love?

  2. Feb. 15 – Discount Chocolate Day! 😉

  3. Seth says:

    X-Day. Praise be to Bob!

  4. siggysrobotboyfriend says:

    My personal favorite obscure holiday is Columbus Day. Not because I have a high opinion of Columbus or think there should be a holiday for him (no, no, no, no, no) but because I get the day off work even though nobody else does.

    • queenieofaces says:

      What’s even the deal with Columbus Day? I grew up on the West Coast and we never got it off and I never knew anyone who got it off, but then I moved to the East Coast and it’s an actual holiday here???? Also, we never get Veteran’s Day off here and I’m so confused.

      • It’s officially a Federal holiday, but I don’t think it’s a terribly popular one anymore, because celebrating genocide and imperialism have gone out of style. I think I got it off for a few years in elementary school (In Nevada), then they stopped, then we got it off in 1992 for the 500th anniversary, and I don’t think I’ve had it off since. In Nevada, I think we always got Veteran’s Day off, but not in Washington. I remember there was a controversy at my university about it, and I think they ended up making a compromise that you could have the day off if you were a veteran or were doing something to specially honor veterans that day. What’s really strange is that November 11th is also Washington Statehood Day, and yet it’s not really treated like a holiday here.

  5. September 28 – Ask a Stupid Question Day, because I see too many people afraid to ask questions in class because they don’t want the teachers to think they’re stupid.
    I have an entire calendar of obscure/probably-made-up holidays, because I love celebrating completely bizarre things sometimes.
    National Fetish Day (I think it’s the third Friday in January) is not bad, either, because of Perverts Wear Purple.

  6. codeman38 says:

    Pi Day! March 14 (3.14), an excuse not only to geek out about that wonderful irrational ratio, but also to eat plenty of pie just for the pun of it. And it’s Einstein’s birthday, to boot.

    Of course, for those in countries where the day is written before the month, you might prefer the alternative Pi Approximation Day, which is 22/7.

    (And because this is an asexual blog, some options for those who prefer cake to pi: National Cake Day is November 26. This is not to be confused with National Chocolate Cake Day, which is January 27, or National Cupcake Day, which is December 15.)

Leave a Reply

