Question of the Week: December 24th, 2013

Today is Christmas Eve. Do you celebrate Christmas? If you do, how do you celebrate? If you don’t, do you do anything in particular instead?

About Aydan

Aydan is an aromantic asexual biology grad student in the US. She blogs at Confessions of an Ist about asexuality, Christianity, environmentalism, and feminism.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Question of the Week: December 24th, 2013

  1. Victrix says:

    Well at the time of this question being posted it was actually Christmas for me. But for my plans for the day is to stay inside and relax, it’s the second day this month that I haven’t had to go out for anything (which has mostly been work). The inside is due to it being the hot spike in our yo-yoing whether at the moment (the temperature has been varying between 20 and 40 degrees C for the entire month with a weekly(ish) cycle). So not big celebrations, we have present opening and Christmas dinner but nothing close to extravagant, just nice and low key.

  2. Jo says:

    My family is German so we usually have our main celebrations on Christmas Eve, with family. We’ve only got us in the country though, no extended family, so Christmas is usually pretty small-scale. Sometimes I’d prefer (as an atheist) not to celebrate at all, but it’s a little hard to escape, really, being all state-sanctioned holiday and everything. It’s a nice time to spend time with family though.

  3. Aydan says:

    We do church on Christmas Eve, then presents and dinner on Christmas Day, with everyone who’s local to us. Nothing super-exciting, but I like it.

  4. Norah says:

    We don’t celebrate christmas, none of us are christians. However, it’s a national holiday here so everyone has days off and our parents’ families were christians, and so we kept the tradition of visiting family and eating special food with them. For me it’s mostly about the baking, my mom makes the rest of the dinner. I use any excuse at all for baking, and this is an especially good one because of the amount of other people that will be around to eat what I bake so I don’t eat all of it myself :).

    Presents on christmas isn’t a tradition in the country anyway, though some people do it now, we do that on a different occasion.

    This year I have this day off for baking for tomorrow, because I am pregnant and will deliver in about a month and travel to my partner’s family is too much for me now (other years we spend one day with partner’s family and the other day with mine and I rush my baking in the evenings). Tomorrow my family is coming here this year instead of us going to my parents’ so I could still participate, so that’s my special food day this year. Plans are a christmas bread, some maple-pecan pastries and a cake for dessert accompanied by icecream.

Leave a Reply

