Question of the Week: December 10th, 2013

Do you follow the news? If so, how do you like to stay current? Do you have any newspapers, magazines, radio shows, podcasts, blogs, vlogs, or other media sources you’d like to recommend?

About Aydan

Aydan is an aromantic asexual biology grad student in the US. She blogs at Confessions of an Ist about asexuality, Christianity, environmentalism, and feminism.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Question of the Week: December 10th, 2013

  1. fluffy says:

    These days I get most of my news from Al Jazeera America.

  2. Seth says:

    I admit I’m kinda bad about that. I get most of my news from HuffPo via Facebook, and also The Onion.

  3. Sara K. says:

    I get a surprising amount of news via e-mail. I’ve subscribed to the lists of many organizations with various focuses, and I often first learn of breaking news when I check my e-mail and one of these organizations has sent an email commenting on something which just happened.

    I also get a lot of news via blogs, not so much the blog posts themselves as the linkspams. I find blogs a useful filter – get the most interesting news articles from a variety of sources. I think blog-linkspam offers a wider variety of voices, say, just reading one news-source (i.e. The New York Times) to get basic news coverage, yet saves me the effort of having to keep up with 20+ news sources on my own. The blog which has the most useful linkspam, in my opinion, is Naked Capitalism, since they generally cover a wide range of topics – finance obviously (it is a finance blog) but also ecomics, politics, science, the environment, demographics, and occasionally even the arts.

    I have generally found the ‘business’ news to be better at providing broad coverage than ‘general’ news, possibly because almost everything affects business (but that doesn’t explain why business news would be broader than general news).

  4. I tend to hit CNN and NBCNews a couple of times a day. I’ll also check local news (usually http://www.komonews.com/, but sometimes a couple other places) at least once a day. I used to have a local news radio station on my alarm clock, but I can’t get it anymore, ever since I put a lot of wireless sensors in my house that muck up AM radio… Every once in a while, I’ll hit CBC and BBC to see what else is going on (or if I know there’s something they’ll have more/better coverage of). I’ve got a couple of friends on Facebook that sometimes post interesting news (But often just post raving, off the wall, easily debunked nonsense). And I try to catch at least some of Rachel Maddow every day, because Rachel Maddow is made of awesome.

  5. I get up every morning, make myself some toast, pour a glass of orange juice, and read the New York Times on my kindle. Apparently the regularity with which I do this every day sometimes creeps out guests.

Leave a Reply

