Linkspam: October 18th, 2013

Every Friday, we will share links to news, blogs, and anything else we find interesting.  We can’t catch everything, so you are invited to self-promote in the comments!

are:UK has made a pamphlet on asexuality and sexual health.

The Ever and Ever That Fiction Allows writes about asexuality, sexual ambiguity, and kinship in Hard Love.

chess-ka has some issues with asexuality in fanfiction.

Everything’s A-Okay is doing a collaborative video project for Asexual Awareness Week.  Click here to find out more.

The Metro ran an article on Asexual Awareness Week in Boston.

Asexual Awareness Week has an incomplete list of events happening on US university campuses during AAW.

Wits University in South Africa is also running an event for AAW.

About queenieofaces

QueenieOfAces is a graduate student in the U.S. studying Japanese religion. She is a queer asexual. She also blogs over at Concept Awesome and runs Resources for Ace Survivors. She is never quite sure what to write in these introduction things, but this one time she accidentally got a short story on asexuality published in an erotica magazine.
This entry was posted in Linkspam. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Linkspam: October 18th, 2013

  1. Quinoa says:

    I looked at the sexual health pamphlet. What’s there is good, but I wish they had also emphasized that some asexuals *don’t* have sex. A lot of problems with doctors stem from asexuals saying they aren’t sexually active or have never had sex, and doctors not believing them, and just telling them to do tests that are unnecessary and could be very traumatic, like pap tests (My 21st birthday is relatively soon, and I’m dreading having this argument with my doctors).

    • queenieofaces says:

      For the record, I definitely know people who have managed to convince doctors to let them push back their pap smears because they weren’t sexually active. It really comes down to how much your doctor trusts you not to lie to them. I came out to my doctor when I was 19 or 20, and she was very understanding about pap smears and STD testing and all that fun stuff.

    • ace-muslim says:

      Last year, I switched to a new doctor and he mentioned that I hadn’t had a pap test in awhile. I said, “I’m not sexually active, do I need one?” He asked if I had ever been sexually active and when I said no, he said I didn’t need to have a pap test for the time being. So just being up-front with your doctor can work in some cases.

  2. codeman38 says:

    For those outside the Boston area who didn’t already see my photo post about it on Tumblr: the Metro article linked in this linkspam was the cover story of that issue. (Eeee!)

Leave a Reply

