Question of the Week: October 15th, 2013

In the Northern Hemisphere, we’re squarely in the middle of fall, and in the United States, that means pumpkin-flavored everything is popping up in stores and restaurants and cafés. Do you like pumpkin foods? If you’re familiar with it, how do you feel about the regional Great Fall Pumpkin Glut?

About Aydan

Aydan is an aromantic asexual biology grad student in the US. She blogs at Confessions of an Ist about asexuality, Christianity, environmentalism, and feminism.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Question of the Week: October 15th, 2013

  1. acetheist says:

    Oh man, I adore pumpkin foods. That is, not pumpkin foods per se, but pumpkin-“flavored” things that are made with autumn spices, like cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger. Mostly I’m just in love with all things cinnamon-y. Why they haven’t made a pumpkin-spice cologne yet, I do not know.

  2. queenieofaces says:

    Let’s not discuss how many containers of Trader Joe’s pumpkin ice cream my apartment has gone through in the past two months.

  3. I don’t pay attention to the pumpkin stuff. It’s the Christmas lights that appeared in the store mid-late September that bother me. Then again, when they’re this early, maybe they’re really Diwali lights.

  4. Kamath says:

    Heh. I have tried pumpkin stuff (pie, I think) exactly once, when I visited the US a whole lot of years ago. I didn’t care much for it.

  5. Aydan says:

    PUMPKIN PIE.
    That is my measured and reasonable contribution on the subject.

  6. Hollis says:

    I recently purchased all the spices for pumpkin pie (really just allspice, nutmeg, and cloves, as I already had the cinnamon) and now have a ton of allspice, nutmeg, and cloves, and I’ve made it my mission to use those spices in as many creative ways as possible to try to justify buying them when i might make pumpkin pie once…

    Thus far, nutmeg is an excellent addition to cayenne pepper and chili powder in omelets. If anyone has suggestions on how to use allspice, nutmeg, and/or cloves, I’d love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

