Question of the Week: September 10th, 2013

Welcome to this Tuesday’s Question of the Week! Feel free to leave your two cents’ worth and get some discussion happening.

Are you an introvert or an extrovert? Going on the asexual stereotype, aces have a  tendency for introversion – is that really the case? Or is the fact that the internet attracts so many introverts something to take into consideration?

Personally, I’m an introvert who has learned to also be able to handle and often even enjoy social situations. However, at the end of the day, social situations are draining for me rather than invigorating, so I need my quiet-alone-time to recharge. When I’m exhausted or down, I’d rather have time to myself. I feel like I need energy to start with if I’m going to be around people and be social. That said, I’ve gotten rather good at networking events and the like, even though I still feel a bit awkward until I manage to talk to someone.

About Jo

Jo is an ancient history honours student in Australia, with a particular interest in gender and sexuality in antiquity. In her free time she devours books, tea and Doctor Who, but is honestly not that into cake, and proudly calls herself a feminist and an activist. She identifies an an aromantic asexual a little bit more every day. Jo also blogs at A Life Unexamined on feminism and asexuality.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Question of the Week: September 10th, 2013

  1. I’m an extreme extrovert, but on most multiple choice psych tests I show up as an introvert.
    Basically, I get energy by working on things (often times hanging out with people, but they can be solitary too). But I don’t like being the center of attention, dislike public speaking, and all of those stereotypical extrovert things (I tend to come up as INTJ on most personality tests).

  2. Seth says:

    Stereotypical introvert here. I like to keep to myself.

  3. Eponine says:

    100% introvert. I suck at public speaking, networking, small talk, meeting new people IRL, etc. I hardly have any friends IRL but I don’t mind it.

  4. Victrix says:

    I’m an introvert as well. Social situations with more than about half a dozen people start to become draining, especially if they contain people that I don’t know well or don’t like. However I have no issue with public speaking, which I’m reasonably good at. I have found that work has improved my ability to interact with people though, as I’ve had to interact with customers.

    • Jo says:

      I found the same when I got a job, Victrix. And funnily enough, I really enjoy public speaking as well! I don’t even mind being in the spotlight – it’s more that I need a lot of me-time as well.

      • Victrix says:

        I usually prefer to avoid the spot light as long as my efforts go acknowledged. However agree with the me time, which I’ve been struggling to get at the moment due to lack of home Internet.

    • Eponine says:

      Public speaking…I’m generally not good at it, but it depends on the topic. If it’s about a topic I’m familiar with, I can do it okay, but still not fantastically. At any rate, I’d choose public speaking over socializing with a bunch of strangers any day. I’ve read from a “X signs that you’re an introvert” kind of article that an introvert would rather give a speech to 500 people than mingle with the same 500 people, which is very true for me.

  5. queenieofaces says:

    I’m an introvert–definitely find large group situations exhausting (especially if I’m with a bunch of people I don’t know). On the other hand, I like spending time with friends and roommates…although not all the time, ’cause that gets exhausting too. But I’m not one of the lone wolf types!
    Also, I love public speaking with an unholy passion, ahaha.

  6. Siggy says:

    I rate as an introvert on all the tests, but I can’t really relate to the experience of being “drained” by social activity. I just tend to be quieter than the average person.

  7. codeman38 says:

    I’m absolutely an introvert– “typical” social environments with lots of conversations all loudly going on at once just send me into a state of overload. (Seriously, I swear, the acoustics of so many social places are designed to be the opposite of conducive to socializing!)

    On the other hand, I love hanging out with small groups of friends in more low-key environments. (And I love the ace meetups in the Boston area. Even the ones where we manage to get 18 people in the room at once.)

  8. Fiammetta says:

    I don’t really know if I should call myself an intro- or an extrovert, I don’t care and I don’t know why this is so important for other people.
    (And I have never understood why I should call it a “social situation” when I go for example to a bar with my ex coworkers. This would be as if I called the salt I use for cooking “sodium chloride”, much too sophisticated for me…)
    No intention to offend anyone!

  9. AQ says:

    I’m an extrovert with (as I like to call it) learned introvert behaviour. I was severely bullied in my early and mid teens, and that has left me very wary around new people and/or larger groups and I’ve come mimic introvert behaviour by rather stepping back and seek out “my own corner” than engaging with people the way I want to.

  10. Hollis says:

    I’m pretty solidly not either one. I’m not a huge fan of interacting with people I don’t know, but that’s a bit more because I have a tendency to be shy. I need a good deal of time spent interacting with people and time spent by myself to feel my best and most charged! When I’m at college, I tend to spend a lot more time with people because sitting in class=/=interacting. When I’m at home and working, I deal with a lot of unfamiliar people/general public and so once I get off work, I spend a lot more time by myself.

    In short, I gain energy from both, but I can’t do either for too long, else I start becoming tired and cranky.

  11. Introvert. Very heavily so. A few years ago at work, they had us all take the MTBI. I pegged the needle on the “I” portion. I’ve never figured out people.

Leave a Reply

