Question of the Week: September 3rd, 2013

As a grad student, I have a lot of people tell me “I could never do what you do,” but I’m also around a lot of people who are very invested in higher education. Are you satisfied with your current level of formal education? Do you wish you had more? Do you wish you’d stopped earlier?

About Aydan

Aydan is an aromantic asexual biology grad student in the US. She blogs at Confessions of an Ist about asexuality, Christianity, environmentalism, and feminism.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Question of the Week: September 3rd, 2013

  1. Seth says:

    I’ve never stopped going to school, and I’m currently working toward my third bachelor’s degree (while finishing some outstanding work for the second). I don’t know what I’ll do after that, but I’m considering grad school.

  2. Eric says:

    I’m halfway through my second graduate degree. I get the same comments with people saying they couldn’t do what I do. I tend to not have much of a social life, working full time and going to grad school full time, but that suits me anyway. I don’t usually agree with the “I wish I were ace so I would have so much more free time” mentality, but in this case, I do think that being single and uninterested in dating or sex is an advantage because I don’t devote time or mental energy on keeping a relationship going, which leaves me able to focus 100% on school.

    To answer your original question, I am happy with my current level of education but I look forward to finishing this degree and never taking another class again, haha 🙂

    • Carmilla DeWinter says:

      Heh. I can get behind that – I was so happy that I’d never have to take another exam, or write another paper, again.

      Though, hm, my chosen field of study (pharmacist, here) wasn’t my first choice in interest, but more the sensible “has an actual job description later” decision, and I was glad to see the end of natural science in my life. Anyhow, I don’t know what would have become of me if I’d gone for English/English Literature/History/Archaeology/something. I’d probably have a lot more trouble trying to find a well paying job that lets me write on the side. Because, as interesting as learning stuff is, I can’t live without making stuff up, and I get seriously stressed out when life doesn’t let me. Bonus of being an unpaid author: I get to do research for novels, and there’s new stuff to learn about for every project. Mediaeval housing, weapons, mythology, German history, other peoples’ history, Tuareg culture, occultism etc etc… the list is long. But I can’t imagine devoting years of my life to one single subject.

  3. queenieofaces says:

    ALWAYS MORE EDUCATION (says the MA student who is applying for PhD programs).

  4. Hollis says:

    I’m currently working on my BA and have plans to go on and get a PhD, so MOAR EDUCATION.

  5. Aydan says:

    My own answer is… ask me again when I have my PhD.

  6. identitey says:

    I just started my sophomore year of college in the US – and I want more more more – although I do feel like my personal bias towards academic intelligence has led to some shortcomings in the emotional/interpersonal side of things. I have recognized that it’s an area that needs self-education in, and am remedying that!

  7. I’m currently finishing up a law degree, but I have enjoyed spending my entire life so far in academia. I’d always like to study more, but at some point I feel like I should put that studying to use and try and do some good in the world. So we will see how that goes in a year.

  8. Jillian says:

    I have a bachelor’s degree and I am SO GLAD I didn’t go back for any more education. I was so done with school and it cost me so much money and I really, honestly don’t believe it was worth it. If I had gone through with my original plan and tried to become a fiction editor, perhaps it would have been okay, but I changed paths partway through and basically invalidated the entire thing. It was a good life experience but it’s nearly worthless for career purposes.

  9. Sara K. says:

    I completed a bachelor’s degree and, in retrospect, it was not a *bad* decision. In hindsight, it might have been better if I had stopped at my associate’s degree (I got it before by bachelor’s degree) and gotten more training outside of academia … but I was uncertain about how things were going to work out when I decided to go for the bachelor’s, and in the light of that uncertainty, getting a bachelor’s was probably the prudent decision. But it was prudent ONLY because California has the most affordable public universities in the United States and I was born to a family which could pay for two years of CSU education out of pocket (since I already had the associate’s degree, getting the bachelor’s only took two years). If I had to take out a loan to get a bachelor’s, I would have probably not have bothered.

    I do not have the slightest bit of regret over getting my associate’s degree. That was wonderful.

    I have no intention of ever returning to academic life as a formal student (though I intend to take more classes in the future for personal developement or to pick up specific skills).

    My mother has a Ph.D. … and there is only one reason why she thinks getting the Ph.D. was worth it: it got her into the United States. However, if it had not been key to realizing her dream of escaping the environment where she grew up, then getting the Ph.D. would have been a terrible mistake, in her opinion.

  10. I am satisfied with my current level of formal education. I struggled a lot to get my bachelor’s degree (taking five years to do a four-year program), but I enjoyed the community I lived in on campus a lot. I miss how easy it was to find a friend to hang out with. I, however, don’t miss struggling with assignments due to executive dysfunction.

  11. dubhach says:

    About to go into the last year of my undergrad and I’m not looking forward to finally getting turfed out come the summer. I want to go back for a Masters and probably a PhD after that, but (bar finding funding lol) I have a feeling it’s going to take a while to get my hands on the money to do so!

Leave a Reply

