Question of the Week: August 27th, 2013

Welcome to this Tuesday’s Question of the Week! Feel free to leave your two cents’ worth and get some discussion happening.

I’m a bit of a history nut, so there is nothing I would like more than to be able to travel back in time. If you could do that, what historical event/period/person would you most like to visit?

I’ve been doing a lot of research on the second century Roman empress Faustina the Younger recently, and she has a really bad reputation for promiscuity that (in my opinion) was all made up. I’d really like to go back in time and meet her to see if my theory holds!

About Jo

Jo is an ancient history honours student in Australia, with a particular interest in gender and sexuality in antiquity. In her free time she devours books, tea and Doctor Who, but is honestly not that into cake, and proudly calls herself a feminist and an activist. She identifies an an aromantic asexual a little bit more every day. Jo also blogs at A Life Unexamined on feminism and asexuality.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Question of the Week: August 27th, 2013

  1. Seth says:

    Admittedly, history holds little interest for me, and given the opportunity, I’d go back to December, 1972 to see Hawkwind live.

  2. Jillian says:

    I’m writing a novel about WWII Ireland right now, so that’s where I’d go, for research purposes. As long as I don’t have to stay there too long…

  3. Victrix says:

    I’d probably want to go back and see what Germanicus Cesear was like. A man that can order the Roman legions to decimate themselves and still have their respect afterwards would have to be impressive, or terrifying.

  4. emhjorth says:

    I’ve been a big fan of vikings since I was little, so I’d probably go back to the Viking Age and sniff around. I’m writing some viking-inspired fantasy novels as well, so like Jillian, I’d abuse it for research purposes.

  5. queenieofaces says:

    I’ve done a couple of projects on Deguchi Nao for school (really interesting person; look her up if you have a chance), and my first thought was that it would be cool to take a stack of gender theory and drop it in front of her and see what she thought.
    Of course, given her feelings on the West and modernization, she’d probably hate my guts, so maybe this wouldn’t be such a great exercise.

  6. This comment contains Doctor Who spoilers, for Blink and Angels in Manhatten. And is probably going to be incomprehensible if you don’t watch Doctor Who.

    So my friends and I have this complaint about the Weeping Angels that they’re not really scary enough. On one level, the idea of being suddenly separated from your family, friends and the entire life you know with no way back terrifies me. On another level, they transport people to Victorian Hull and Jazz Era New York. Victorian Hull and Jazz Era New York!! YES, PLEASE. Those places. Especially Victorian Hull.

  7. morethanx says:

    I’d like to visit the library of Alexandria (assuming I could read the scrolls), and I’d also like to teach Heinrich Schliemann how to properly excavate an archaeological site i.e. not with dynamite.

Leave a Reply

