Question of the Week: August 20th, 2013

Asexuality is jokingly associated with cake to a degree that delights some people and annoys others. These associations often use simply the word “cake,” but the truth is, there are many kinds of cake out there! So: do you have a favorite kind of cake? (Do you have a recipe?) Do you have a least favorite kind of cake? Are there any kinds of cakes (for example, Christmas morning coffee cake, or king cake) that you associate with good memories or favorite holidays?

About Aydan

Aydan is an aromantic asexual biology grad student in the US. She blogs at Confessions of an Ist about asexuality, Christianity, environmentalism, and feminism.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Question of the Week: August 20th, 2013

  1. Norah says:

    I like too many cakes and pastries to have a favourite, but I do have clear dislikes: I don’t like mixing pieces of fruit (the flavour is fine, so pureed fruit etc is different) in with cakes or breads. So any cake or pastries that have fruit inside them or consist of so much fruit that I can’t just pick it off and still have most of the cake left is off my list. Apple pie is right out.

    I’m also not terribly fond of coffee-flavoured cake.

  2. Siggy says:

    For many years growing up, I’d get a mudpie to celebrate birthdays. It’s a coffee ice cream cake with a layer of chocolate cookie. So good.

  3. Barbara says:

    I love chocolate cake. Devil’s food is my weakness.

  4. queenieofaces says:

    I have a chocolate decadence cake recipe that calls for a pound of chocolate. Literally. (The only other ingredients are eggs and butter. It’s an extremely hardcore cake.) It’s my go-to for all cake-necessary occasions.

  5. I realised recently that I don’t really like cake, in that the less like a cake and the more like a brownie my cake is, the more I like it.

    Queenie- That recipe. That sounds like heaven.
    (my go-to cake for a lot of university was an altered version of a malteaser ‘cake’ recipe which, by the time we were done with it, was almost but not quite a solid block of chocolate with malteasers and biscuits in. You had to take a sledgehammer to it to get a piece)

  6. Jo says:

    I am not actually that fond of cake – mainly because of the floury-ness of most cakes. If I have to choose cake it has to be very moist, or be something like a fruit flan or cheesecake. I think I’d rather have ice cream or chocolate or something savoury.

  7. Sciatrix says:

    I am also in the “prefers brownies to cake and fudge to almost everything” camp, but I do make an exception for chocolate cake “frosted” with Cool-Whip or, in a pinch, whipped cream. And tres leches with sliced strawberries on. Those are both wonderful.

Leave a Reply

