Question of the Week: June 4th, 2013

This is the Question of the Week, a way to stimulate conversation.  It occurs every Tuesday.

Do you participate in any offline queer organizations, or have you ever tried to participate?  Or if not, is there any particular reason why not?

I used to participate in queer college student groups, but now I don’t.  These days, the student groups make me feel old, even though I’m not actually that old.  I got tired of all the ice breakers.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Question of the Week: June 4th, 2013

  1. queenieofaces says:

    I thought about getting involved in the LGB grad group at my university, but it turned out to be a forum for husband/wife shopping, neither of which is particularly relevant to my interests. So I’ve mostly stuck to ace meet-ups.

    • Siggy says:

      There’s also a queer grad student group where I am, but I hesitate to call them an “organization”. They just have happy hours every month. I’m told that some people there are only looking for dates/hookups, but I’m happily oblivious to this.

  2. Aydan says:

    Yeah, same with me: the groups I’m in contact with are mostly undergraduates, and I don’t have much in common with them.

  3. Seth says:

    I also just stick to the local ace meetup. I have a hard time imagining that I’d find much common ground if I tried going to a generic queer group. Although, the meetup group I’m in has attracted enough members that the spread of romantic orientations and gender identities is starting to make it look rather like a generic queer group.

  4. Jo says:

    I’ve recently made a Facebook group for organising meetups in my city as well, so that’s where I meet other ace people mainly. I’m kinda on the periphery of the Queer group at uni – I know a good number of the people and generally keep an eye on things happening, but in general I don’t really feel like I fit into their group very well. partly just because of people’s personalities, but also because I still find a lot of the stuff that goes on is very sex-and-relationships focused, and it’s not really something I relate to.

  5. Victrix says:

    I’ve avoided getting involved in my uni’s queer group, mainly as I had a friend in there when I thought I was straight and felt that it would be inappropriate then. I had a look at the sign on the door to the lounge they have and it specifically mentioned queer aces (I was considering myself heteroromantic at the time, no idea where aromantic would be considered) though it did also have non-heteronormative mentioned too. I just haven’t been interested, it’s been my main source for news on uni politics but some of the other stories I’ve heard just don’t have me interested in trying to participate. That said I do know that there is another ace that is part of the group.

Leave a Reply

