Question of the Week: May 21st, 2013

This is the Question of the Week, a way to stimulate conversation.  It occurs every Tuesday.

Imagine that you’re an evil overlord.  What will you do once you finally take over the world?

The first thing I would do, of course, is steal Christmas.  Not like the Grinch, but like Jack Skellington.  I’d steal everything, and replace it with stuff played in a minor key.  Hahaha!  And then I’d make it all polymetric, especially the dance music.  I guess I’d really be some sort of musical evil overlord.

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Question of the Week: May 21st, 2013

  1. MoreThanX says:

    Ensure I follow TV Tropes ‘If I become an Evil Overlord’ list to the letter. (http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/EvilOverlordList)

    Also get a big house with lots of secret passages, and a library. I am not very ambitious for an evil overlord.

    • Siggy says:

      But being able to explain your evil plans to the hero right before killing them is what makes it all worthwhile!

  2. Sara K. says:

    I’d turn the entire world into an eco-tourism paradise for my pleasure. I’d keep around the humans needed to provide my needs (food, clothes, maintaining my shelters, etc.), keep around some humans to keep transporation intact (drivers, pilots, road-maintanance people, people who can extract fuel, etc.), keep around some people who are entertaining (i.e. muscians, video game designers, etc.) and keep around some people to do ecological restoration work so that my eco-tourism paradise keeps becoming lusher and teeming with more and more non-human life … but I’d kill off the rest of humanity lest, they ruin MY paradise.

    Oh, and also follow the recommendations of the ‘If I Become and Evil Overlord’ list.

  3. Sciatrix says:

    I don’t think I would conquer the world unless there was something going on that was really annoying me and that I was pretty sure I could do better. So I would fix that and get it out of the way, first.

    And then I’d… try to set up a more stable system of governance to ensure a stable transition after I died so the country didn’t end up in an endless sea of coups and power grabs? If I was going to be an evil overlord, I’d probably try to be one like Lord Vetinari from Discworld. I suppose I’m not so good at the “evil” part of the job description–I’d rather be an efficient overlord.

Leave a Reply

