Question of the Week: April 30th, 2013

If you had three options:

  • a garden as large as you want that you have to tend yourself
  • a garden of limited size, say 10′ x 20′ or about 3 m x 6 m, with an army of helper gnomes to do most or all of the work
  • no garden at all

which would you choose, and why? If one of the first two, what would you plant?

About Aydan

Aydan is an aromantic asexual biology grad student in the US. She blogs at Confessions of an Ist about asexuality, Christianity, environmentalism, and feminism.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Question of the Week: April 30th, 2013

  1. Aydan says:

    I would choose the helper gnomes option because I can only eat so much produce, and I need time more than extra produce.

    I would plant ALL OF THE THINGS. Peppers and tomatoes and blueberries and strawberries and apples and melon and sweet potatoes and pumpkins and spinach and cucumbers and zucchini and squash and basil and ALL of the herbs and lots of varieties of flowers.

  2. Sciatrix says:

    Helper gnomes, with the option of having a side garden in which I have to do my own work. That lets me maximize my output in the form of plant life while minimizing my input. 😀

    (Even if I can’t do that, probably still helper gnomes. I’m enjoying my little container patio garden more than I thought I would, but I don’t actually do much with it aside from water the plants when I remember to and leave a fluorescent lamp on now and again to give them some supplemental light. If I had helper gnomes, I might give produce more of a shot, but as it is I suspect I’m just going to pick up some more native plants that can handle the rather unfortunate conditions I can give them when I get a chance.)

  3. epochryphal says:

    Oh man, I love the helper gnomes option, because I have absolutely slaughtered the few solitary potted plants I’ve been given (I’m so sorry, baby strawberry plant :’c). I would need daffodils and orange roses and orange poppies and lots of succulents, and also a lot of aloe. Definitely an orange tree and tomatoes. Possibly some more orange flowers. Yessss.

  4. nextstepcake says:

    Helper gnomes – a giant garden isn’t much use if it’s all dead because I forgot to water it. Plus anything is better than my current option of occasionally sprouting basil in the kitchen window because I have no garden at all.

    I’d love to two basic types of plants in my garden:
    1. Butterfly Plants
    2. Edible Plants

    Having a butterfly garden is really fun – at my parent’s house they have Milkweed (for Monarch butterflies), Passionflower (for Gulf Frittilaries), and Fennel (for swallowtails); every year we get lots of chrysalids all around the yard and then lots of butterflies when they hatch!

    I’d also love to grow edible things like basil, oregano, raspberries, green onions, chamomile, etc. – having fresh food is always great, especially for things like herbs that can be hard to buy fresh.

  5. Twi says:

    Helper gnomes!
    I wouldn’t trust myself to take care of plants (because plants won’t remind you to water them) because I am the most forgetful person on the planet (I would forget to go to classes if I did not have alarms reminding me to do so).
    I’d have all the food-things! Green beans and peas and squash and pumpkins and strawberries and carrots and peppers and maybe some watermelon (and a whole orchard if it would be feasible) and some herbs (mostly basil and mint and rosemary). Growing up, I always wanted to grow lots of edible things, and although we had plenty of space, we didn’t have any sun due to an overabundance of trees in our lawn (but we managed with some pumpkins and some potted pepper plants and tomatoes and peas and some herbs on our patio).

  6. Norah says:

    The gnomes. Hip and back problems now at the point where I wouldn’t be able to do all the work physically, and that’s aside from the fact that I would probably not be able to do it anyway :P.

    And I’d plant food. Mostly pumpkins… So, so many pumpkins. And maybe some herbs. And one chestnut tree.

  7. Colette says:

    Am I the only one who likes the first option? I’d want a relatively small garden, but I think that I’d like taking care of it on my own.
    I’d probably grow mostly flowers, although I can’t say which ones as I’m not actually a flower person. I’d like plants that attracted butterflies and bumblebees, since my mom’s garden had those when I was a kid.
    I would also grow strawberries. Having those fresh would be fantastic.

  8. Seth says:

    A garden would be great to have, but not something I’d necessarily want (or remember) to spend a lot of time on, so definitely helper gnomes. I’d want to focus on growing produce, especially things that are hard to find fresh in stores: basil, ghost peppers, soy beans. After that, maybe nappa cabbage and bok choy. I am, of course, paying absolutely no attention to climate, and just assuming it won’t be an issue. (Yes, my cooking does have an Eastern influence. Why do you ask?)

  9. queenieofaces says:

    I think I’d go for the first option. As awesome as helper gnomes would be, I really love working in the garden, and I also really like huuuuuuge gardens. I think I’d mostly grow vegetables, ’cause they’re really expensive over here (I’m terribly spoiled by growing up in California) and fresh vegetables are amazing.

  10. I would choose option 2, because I struggle with the executive function that is required for raising a garden. I would have the gnomes grow medicinal herbs and pretty flowers (well, lavender and chamomile in terms of pretty flowers–flowers I could use in herbal medicines). I would also love to have a lilac tree in there somehow, because lilacs are my favorite flower. Also, a 10×20 garden is HUGE compared to the gardens I’ve grown up with.

  11. Would you have to feed the helper gnomes and have a place for them to live? That seems like more trouble than tending the garden would be. Plus, I have this creepy cat that likes to hang out in my back yard, and it would probably end up eating the gnomes… http://www.flickr.com/photos/redbeardmathpirate/8566920096/
    What I’d like is a back yard that’s full of stuff that stays green, never grows above six inches, and won’t be taken over by house-eating blackberry vines if I don’t do anything about it. (And without that cat… -shudder-)

Leave a Reply

