Question of the Week: April 2nd, 2013

What’s your favorite memory associated with the asexual community? Allies can answer too!

About Aydan

Aydan is an aromantic asexual biology grad student in the US. She blogs at Confessions of an Ist about asexuality, Christianity, environmentalism, and feminism.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Question of the Week: April 2nd, 2013

  1. Aydan says:

    I don’t think I have a specific favorite memory, but I have lots of good memories of talking with people like me and finding out that I’m not as alone as I thought.

  2. What Aydan said, and also, I was fortunate enough to get a space last-minute at last year’s Asexuality Conference in London. Everything about that day was amazing, but especially the group reactions- when a speaker mentioned ‘Dan Savage’ or ‘House’ (it was about a month after the house episode) there were quiet collective boos, and when they mentioned some other things, equally random-seeming to an outside observer, there was collective laughter or happiness. It wasn’t orchestrated or planned, there was just such a sense of joint culture or identity. I can’t do it justice describing it, but it felt very powerful.

    • Sciatrix says:

      I had a similar feeling when I finally got around to watching (A)sexual at a group showing the local Gender and Sexuality Center recently hosted. It was an experience I had a lot of emotions about.

      I have some good memories from the Q&A: Asexuality panel I chaired with UGA Lambda, too–there was an incident where a person kept asking some rather insulting things, and it was a beautiful feeling to have a) my entire panel and b) at least half the audience (some of whom were looking increasingly indignant) behind me as I handled that. Usually I don’t get to feel nearly that well-supported when I encounter that sort of thing.

  3. Siggy says:

    My favorite memories involve offline meetups. I especially enjoy talking about internet dramas in a space where we all have some distance from the internet.

  4. Jillian says:

    Probably playing Cards Against Humanity at my first meetup in Boston. For a not quite community related memory, I was in a sexuality and gender activism group in college and we put up a giant Kinsey scale board. There ended up being another X up there!

  5. nextstepcake says:

    For me I think one of them was when I went to an “Asexuality” 101 meeting at my uni’s QSA as a freshman – it was the first time I ever met other asexuals (including David Jay!) in real life, and the first time I ever came out to someone off the internet. It was incredibly affirming and the first thing that got me involved in my local offline ace community, which has been a blast!

  6. queenieofaces says:

    I went to my first queer conference this year, and I participated in an asexy caucus with 24 other aces. That concentration of aces in a single room was AMAZING. (Actually, the whole conference experience was amazing.)

  7. My favorite memory of the asexual community was when I met my partner in September 2011 at an asexual meetup in New York.

Leave a Reply

