Question of the Week: March 19th, 2013

What’s your favorite trip that you’ve ever taken? It can be for work, for school, for pleasure, etc.

About Aydan

Aydan is an aromantic asexual biology grad student in the US. She blogs at Confessions of an Ist about asexuality, Christianity, environmentalism, and feminism.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Question of the Week: March 19th, 2013

  1. Seth says:

    A month-long trip to England and Scotland. It was prompted by my aunt’s wedding, but there was plenty of time to do touristy things and even attend a Deep Purple concert, as well as meet the half of my family that lives in Britain.

  2. Aydan says:

    I really enjoy road trips, so all my favorite trips are of that kind, around various parts of the US.

  3. I took a three month trip backpacking through Europe. It was fabulous. I traveled by myself, went into all the art museums, churches, and random pretty nature hideaways I could want. I learned a lot about fending for myself and just losing myself in the moment. Still processing the pictures from that adventure….

  4. Five day roadtrip (with bonus trains and planes for some of us) around the UK with fangirl friends, to go to four concerts in four nights in four different citities. In the snowpocalypse of November 2011.

  5. Carmilla DeWinter says:

    Huh, this is indeed a difficult question for me, because apart from being 30+ and earning decent wages, I’ve also traveled a lot. Blame the wanderlust on my parents, they’ve dragged me places uncounted. Which means, I’ll only consider the self-planned stuff for this list.
    So, let’s make categories. In terms of sheer hilarity and fun: WorldPride London 2012, and the infamous Transformers 2009 trip to see a co-fan near Chicago. (Let’s say, she invited me over with the TFs being the excuse… no way I made an 8 hour flight for animated giant robots without dub, nossir.)
    In terms of, oh my gosh, landscape: 3 week Greyhound trip in western Canada, 2007, on my own. Being the scheduling freak I am, I had my hotels all lined up. Also, I fell in love with the Rockies, and did surprisingly well all alone.
    In terms of geeking out about culture and history, and also, landscape: Morocco 2011. 2 week guided trip with a busload of utter strangers *meh*. Still haven’t done much about the photos.

  6. queenieofaces says:

    One time, a couple of friends and I drove from Nagoya, Japan to The Middle of Nowhere, Nagano Prefecture to see the festival that Spirited Away is supposedly based off of. Needless to say, it was fabulous (but really cold!). I also got free (delicious) food out of the experience!

    • Sara K. says:

      I may very well be visiting Japan later this year. When does this festival happen, and it is possible to get to The Middle of Nowhere, Nagano Prefecture with public transporation?

      • queenieofaces says:

        It’s on December 15, I believe. Also, I’m pretty sure it’s impossible to get to via public transit unless you want to take a million hours (it would be one of those train to bus to train to train to bus to train to bus to walk an hour scenarios). To give you an idea of how isolated this place is, there is no middle school in the town, the nearest high school is 2 hours away, and it took us 5 hours to get there by car from Nagoya.

        Do you know where you’ll be in Japan?

        • Sara K. says:

          No, I don’t know where I’ll be, though at least I might be in Japan in December, so the timing is possible. However, since I’ll be there in fall/winter, I’ll probably spend most of my time in the south (Kyushu, Ryukyu islands, etc.). Spending a day in Kyoto is almost obligatory for tourists, and I suppose I’ll spend a little time in Tokyo too, but I’m more interested in the countryside and small towns than the big cities.

          Train/bus/walk/train/bus is okay with me if there are interesting things to see on the way (i.e. if I can look at nice scenery while walking).

          • queenieofaces says:

            Kyushu is gorgeous in the winter, so I highly recommend that. Kyoto is gorgeous year-round. If you want to go to rural areas, I’d recommend both Nikko and Nagano, although both of them will be buried under a ton of snow when you visit.

            This is the website for the festival (although it’s all in Japanese, so I don’t know how useful you’ll find it): http://www.tohyamago.com/simotuki/

  7. Sara K. says:

    Wow, tough question. I’ve had the good fortune of having been on a lot of trips which were wonderful in different ways. It’s especially hard to answer this question since I just got back from Nantou county, which I fell in love with. I don’t think my trip to Nantou is my favorite trip ever, but it was great and is so fresh in my mind that I have trouble considering this question properly right now.

  8. I don’t really have a favorite trip in particular. I tend to pack up the car and head out on a two week road trip by myself at least once a year. Each of those trips has its own highlights: Feeling the steam from the geysers of Yellowstone, taking a floatplane over Lake Chelan, using my geiger counter at ground zero at the Trinity Site, hiking up to Delicate Arch, getting wet from the spray of gigantic waves at Shore Acres, wandering through Banff and Jasper, walking behind the waterfalls at Silver Falls, seeing the sun rise on the equinox at Chaco Canyon, seeing the sunset at North Head Lighthouse, and seeing Half Dome in the moonlight.
    And that’s just a few of the good times…

  9. Twi says:

    I’ve had so many amazing trips. One of my favorites was definitely whitewater rafting in Alaska. It was just so beautiful and the air is so clear and you can see things that are so far away. Another of my favorites was a trip to the Galapagos. Kicker rock is just an amazing structure to see, and the few days we spent in Quito were also amazing because the mountains are just so pretty with the fog and make you feel so small. The best part of that trip was probably snorkeling with sea lions, though. I think my favorite trip would have to go to visiting Tanzania. The wildlife is amazing, and the Ngorongoro Crater could easily be the setting of the Lion King. And the people were all so vibrant and friendly.

  10. cephisso says:

    Well… My favourite trip probably was the one to South Africa when I was 11, where I discovered English as my favourite language.
    My parents and I travelled a lot and met tons of new people and saw a great deal of the country, and in the end that was what led me to my biggest trip, my exchange year to Canada 🙂

  11. Pingback: Question of the Week: June 11th, 2013 | The Asexual Agenda

Leave a Reply

