Question of the Week: February 19th, 2013

This is the Question of the Week, a way to stimulate conversation.  It occurs every other Tuesday.

Do you like art, or creating things, or crafting things, or working with your hands? If you do, what’s your favorite way to relax while doing any of the above?

About Aydan

Aydan is an aromantic asexual biology grad student in the US. She blogs at Confessions of an Ist about asexuality, Christianity, environmentalism, and feminism.
This entry was posted in Question of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Question of the Week: February 19th, 2013

  1. Aydan says:

    I find doing embroidery very soothing, myself.

  2. queenieofaces says:

    Knitting! I think the only reason I didn’t turn into a complete jumble of nerves while working on my undergrad thesis was because I would take breaks from work to knit. I made A LOT of winter clothes that year…

  3. Seth says:

    I never picked up any such hobby.

  4. Twi says:

    I always wanted to learn how to knit, but I’ve never had time to do so.

  5. G- says:

    I pursued an art degree in jewelry design/metalsmithing and have since found employment in the art/design/manufacturing field as a CAD-based modeler. During work, I relax by listening to music/podcasts, and after work I pursue tangential interests in design/SPFX/costumery/sculpture/etc.

    Still not great at drawing, though. :/

  6. Sara K. says:

    The only ‘hands on’ hobbies I’ve ever gotten into were cooking and gardening (in fact, my current avatar is a flower growing in my garden which I planted myself). Cooking and gardening can be artistic, but I wouldn’t call them crafts.

  7. Norah says:

    The most relaxing stuff is the stuff I can do while watching something on TV, for example. Like basting when I make clothes, or putting a necklace together. For that reason, other things like writing, or using the sewing machine, or cutting the fabric, or whatever, will never be as relaxing. Some of the other stuff can be exciting, and absorbing, and definitely fun, but not really relaxing.

  8. Jo says:

    I really like pottery, and I’m pretty good at it for some reason. Clay is cold and smooth and lovely. And gardening as well, there’s something so soothing about just ripping weeds out, or planting new seedlings. 🙂

  9. Effi says:

    I don’t have any consistent craft hobby these days, but several times a year I have an URGENT NEED to be constantly doing something with my hands, which leads to a spurt of knitting, drawing, origami, or even making chain mail. I just painted a few set pieces for a play and was astonished by how enjoyable it was and how long it’s been since I did anything like that.

Leave a Reply

