January 29 Open Thread

I’m running the open thread this week, so I choose the image, and there’s nothing you can do about it.  This is an origami cube I folded.

???????????????????????????????

Have you created anything recently?

About Siggy

Siggy is a physics grad student in the U.S. He is gay gray-A, and makes amateur attempts at asexual activism. His interests include godlessness, scientific skepticism, and math. While not working or blogging, he plays video and board games with his boyfriend, and folds colored squares.
This entry was posted in Open Thread. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to January 29 Open Thread

  1. Seth says:

    It’s not quite done yet, but for my senior project, I’ve been working on a limited virtual MIPS processor intended as a demonstration tool in teaching pipelining concepts. Should be finished sometime this term.

  2. queenieofaces says:

    I’m knitting a scarf! It’s the first bit of lace I’ve ever knit, which is pretty exciting. I think I’m about 75% done.

  3. Sciatrix says:

    That cube is gorgeous! Did you plan the design yourself, or is it patterned paper?

    I am currently making diagrams for a test in the class I TA. I hadn’t previously realized how hard it is to find good diagrams for a concept that can be easily illustrated by manipulating a standard bell curve. :/

    • Siggy says:

      The module design is by Meenakshi Mukerji, who is a big name in modular origami. I chose the colors though. The paper is not patterned, there’s just some purple paper and some black paper, and the backsides are white.

  4. Craig says:

    Three things are in progress at the moment:

    – My Final Year Dissertation Project is in progress (a simple program that interprets Scheme code)
    – I’m helping with setting up my University’s Science and Technology magazine as a web dev, and – I’m presently in the process of writing an article on the topic of Asexuality 101 for my University’s LGBTQ association. (any hints besides the usual AVEN stuff would be nice). 🙂

    Busy, I know, but I like busy, busy is good. 🙂

    • Sciatrix says:

      Out of curiosity, what kinds of hints are you looking for? Stuff that’s useful to talk about, or ways to frame things, or what?

      • Craig says:

        Mostly framing the whole premise in a way that’s acceptable to both the general public and those in the asexual community. But I’d also like some ideas for potential analogies that have worked for people in the past. My current plan on the latter point is to look at one of the Carnival posts that covered and see if anything pops up that works.

        I think the main hurdle to getting this right is that, while I understand (and enjoy) the more advanced articles of this blog, it means I have the tendency to be not so ‘down to earth’ with phrasing the basics, without context of what has and hasn’t worked before. As a Computer Scientist, that isn’t surprising. 😀

        • Sciatrix says:

          Ah, I see what you mean! When I’m doing that sort of thing to a LGBTQ audience I tend to start by referencing back to bi/pansexuality and point out that a logical extension of being attracted primarily to one gender, another gender, or multiple genders is to be attracted to no genders–essentially, explaining and diagramming the Storms model. But I like to use existing and historical models as tools. My advice is to make sure that you explicitly mention that we’re talking about attraction, not behavior–that’s one of the biggest places I usually see people have a hard time with the concept. I do find that LGBTQ audiences are better at that particular thing than general ones, though.

          In general, as long as you take care to avoid jargon and explain what you’re talking about as you go, I don’t necessarily think that mentioning a “more advanced” concept is all that terrible. The trick is to make sure that you cover the basics thoroughly.

          Have you seen Siggy’s presentation from the 2011 Western Regional LGBTQIA Conference? It seems like it’s a pretty similar thing to what you’re trying to do, and it might be helpful for ideas. The Asexuality Archive also has a lot of very basic introductory content, which might help you think about how to frame ideas for your audience.

          Good luck!

  5. Aydan says:

    I have created, and am continuing to create, a story!

Leave a Reply

