December 18 Open Thread

[Image description: A golden retriever spinning in a circle, who has managed to catch its own tail. Its eyes are wide and it looks surprised.]

A golden retriever spinning in a circle, who has managed to catch its own tail. Its eyes are wide and it looks surprised.

Accomplished any goals recently?

This entry was posted in Open Thread. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to December 18 Open Thread

  1. Sciatrix says:

    I just got published for the first time as of Sunday. 😀 Between that and finishing my first semester of grad school, I feel very accomplished.

    • Aydan says:

      Way to go, you! 😀

    • morethanx says:

      Well done! Is it something laypeople will be able to understand or is it aimed at other academics?

      • Sciatrix says:

        It’s aimed at other academics, but I don’t really see a reason laypeople wouldn’t be able to understand it–it’s not really an esoteric paper, and it’s entirely the result of my undergraduate work. None of it is very methodologically complicated.

        Of course, it’s also possible that my idea of what’s “baseline” levels of background is biased…

  2. queenieofaces says:

    I finished my first semester of grad school as well!

  3. I am VERY CLOSE to having seen every Pokemon in the Unova Pokedex in White 2. All I need to see is Ninetales.

  4. codeman38 says:

    I turned 30 last week!

    I suppose that counts, anyway, even though it’s not really anything that happened of my own volition…

  5. Aydan says:

    I finished the semester. It was a difficult one.

  6. I put together two Ikea bookcases, put extra shelves bridging the gap between them, and managed to get most of it level, all by myself and without serious injury. Gotta say, putting up shelves by yourself takes some doing. You need one hand to keep the shelf in place and level, one hand to hold the screw, and another hand to use the drill.
    The shelves are now home to my antique globe and stereoscopes.

  7. morethanx says:

    I wrote my 2000 word Uni assignment on the due date because illness derailed my carefully laid plans for doing it before then. I’m pleased, but never want to do it again.

  8. Norah says:

    I made a princess dress for my niece who just turned 7! It was also the most complicated sewing project I’ve done so far. It turned out pretty well too. I used two-tone taffeta (red and yellow) and yellow satin, and decorated the front panels with little fabric roses.

    I will post pictures (of the dress sans niece) on my blog soon. (no really, I will. Though I won’t blame anyone if they laugh now).

Leave a Reply

